Welcome
This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for Arctic studies that can be a good starting point for your research. Arctic research is interdisciplinary and international. Areas of Arctic research include the environment and ecosystem, weather, climate, nature and wildlife, culture and society, human health, and indigenous study.
Arctic Centre
Related guides
- Archeology This link opens in a new window
- Biology This link opens in a new window
- History This link opens in a new window
- Spatial sciences This link opens in a new window
- Scandinavian studies This link opens in a new window
Atlases
Dictionaries
- Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).
Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.
Open access information
SmartCat
Databases
- Antarctic Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
- Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) This link opens in a new windowArctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. It provides access to valuable research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 and earlier to the present. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and indexed from a wide variety of sources including scientific periodicals, monographs, government reports, theses and dissertation
- Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) This link opens in a new windowThe ASTIS database contains 75,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada.
- ArcticStat This link opens in a new windowArcticStat is a database of socio-economic datasets and statistical tables from the circumpolar region. Many of the datasets come directly from the official statistical agencies of each individual Arctic country.
- National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) This link opens in a new windowThe National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere.
Google Search
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor direct access to full text documents:
Click on Settings - Library links : choose University of Groningen options + Open Worldcat (if not shown, type 'Groningen'). Links to full text (if available) will be shown in your search results.
Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. RefWorks - Google Books This link opens in a new window
Other online resources
- Arctic Council This link opens in a new windowThe Arctic Council is a high level intergovernmental forum that provides a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.
- Arctic Portal This link opens in a new windowThe Arctic Portal provides a comprehensive gateway to the Arctic on the internet, increases co-operation between both public and private parties across the Arctic and grants exposure to Arctic related information.
- INTERACT project This link opens in a new windowThe INTERACT project has a main objective to build capacity for identifying, understanding, predicting and responding to diverse environmental changes throughout the wide environmental and land-use envelopes of the Arctic.
- NOAA Arctic Theme Page This link opens in a new windowThe Arctic Theme Page provides access to widely distributed Arctic data and information for scientists, students, teachers, academia, managers, decision makers and the general public.
- Smithsonian National Museum of History Arctic Studies Center (ASC) This link opens in a new windowThe ASC of the Smithsonian provides a selected anthropological history of circumpolar peoples by offering a number of interesting online exhibits. Access to newsletters, field reports, catalogs, a FAQ, glossary, and teaching tools is located under the “Publications” and “Resources” sections.
New arrivals (Ant)Arctic Studies 2020
New arrivals (Ant)Arctic Studies July 2016 - August 2020
The SmartCat-links in the spreadsheet are clickable!
New arrivals (Ant)Arctic Studies 2011-2016
The SmartCat-links in the spreadsheet are clickable!
Hulppagina over Google Books bij Universiteit Utrecht
Books
Books on Arctic studies in the University of Groningen Library
Choose in these cases:
Sort by: Date (Newest First)
Libraries to search: Library of Groningen
Format: Book
BrowZine
The easiest way to keep up to date with the latest articles in your research field!
AM Explorer
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowCollections of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st century.
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts