Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History: More resources

About this page

On this page you will find a broader selection of resources that might be useful for your research

Collections art historical libraries

Many publications that are of interest to art historical research are not available in university libraries, but only in the libraries of museums and art historical institutes. The holdings of these libraries cannot always be found through SmartCat. You need to search the catalogues/databases of these institutes.

Interdisciplinary databases

Interdisciplinary bibliographies covering a specific historical period or subject

General databases

Google Scholar

Google's search engine for scholarly and scientific literature.

 
For direct access to full text documents: 
Click on Settings - Library links : choose University of Groningen Library Get it! (if not shown, type 'Groningen'). Links to full text (if available) will be shown in your search results.
 
Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. RefWorks

Newspapers and magazines

For current topics it is useful to search for articles in newspapers and magazines.

Nexis Uni offers full-text articles from Dutch and foreign newspapers. Articles by freelance journalists or art critics are not always included.

Delpher

Use Delpher for full text search of Dutch books, newspapers and magazines from the 17th until the 20th century from the digital collections of libraries, scientific institutes and cultural heritage organizations in the Netherlands.