- Library
- LibGuides
- Arts, Culture and Media
- Film and TV
About this page
On this page you will find a selection of resources that might be useful for your research on film and television
Bibliographies
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowBibliography of art, including film
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowBibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media
- FIAF International FilmArchive Database This link opens in a new windowBibliography of film and television, plus directory of film archives
Reference
- BFI Collections This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalogue and database of the British Film Institute with information on some 800,000 feature films, short films, TV programmes, documentaries, newsreels and educational and training films.
- Cinema context This link opens in a new windowAn online encyclopedia and a research tool for the history of Dutch film culture, with data collections on films, cinemas, people and companies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Cinema and MediaAnnotated bibliography of research subjects in cinema and media
Newspapers
A list of available current newspapers and newspaper archives, licensed by the library or freely available online
Current newspapers
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowBritish online newspaper that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
- Financieele Dagblad This link opens in a new windowDutch newspaper focused on business and economics
- The New York Times This link opens in a new windowOnline access to The New York Times articles from 1851-1922 and from 1980 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowDutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowAccess major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields
Licensed newspaper archives
- The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
- Early American newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1997 This link opens in a new window
- New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new window
Other online archives
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowOver 1400 American newspaper titles from 1836 - 1922
Media History Digital Library
Media History Digital Library is a collection of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting and recorded sound.
Eye study
In EYE Study, visitors have full access to EYE’s collection catalogue, enabling you to view more than 9000 digitized films, as well as photo’s, stills and posters.
EYE Study also maintains a large collection of books, journals (both archival and current), as well as donated company archives.
EYE Study is part of the new EYE Collection Centre in Amsterdam
EUscreen
EUcreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives
Related libguide
- AVM This link opens in a new window