Library Guides/ Scandinavian studies

Linguistics journals

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) This link opens in a new window
Database of linguistic properties of languages world-wide.
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of more than 50 authors.
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Research guide for linguistics, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia

Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
The Linguistic Bibliography Online database provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications in linguistics. It covers all branches of linguistics, both theoretical and descriptive, from all geographical areas. The emphasis is on non-Indo-European languages and lesser known Indo-European languages, including endangered and extinct languages. The database contains all entries of the printed volumes of the Linguistic Bibliography from 1993 onward.
Medieval Nordic Texts Online This link opens in a new window
Menota is a network of leading Nordic archives, libraries and research departments working with medieval texts and manuscript facsimiles. The archive will contain texts in the Nordic languages as well as in Latin.

Linguist List This link opens in a new window
The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world.
Nordic Society for Systemic Functional Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Nordisk SFL har som formål (i) at fremme udbredelsen af den systemisk-funktionelle lingvistik og den socialsemiotiske videnskab i Norden, og (ii) at fremme arbejdet med den systemisk-funktionelle beskrivelse af de nordiske sprog: dansk, norsk og svensk.
Språkbanken, Göteborg This link opens in a new window
Språkrådet This link opens in a new window
The Language Council of Sweden
Språkrådet This link opens in a new window
The Language Council of Norway
Dansk Sprognævn This link opens in a new window
The Language Council of Denmark

Nordens språk med røtter og føtter This link opens in a new window
Iben Stampe Sletten
2004
ISBN: 9289310421
The Nordic languages : an international handbook on the history of the North Germanic languages (2 vol.) This link opens in a new window
Oskar Bandle
2002-2005
Svenska språket under sjuhundra år (SE) This link opens in a new window
Gertrud Pettersson
2005
ISBN: 978-91-44-03911-4
Dansk sprog : en grundbog (DK) This link opens in a new window
Henrik Galberg Jacobsen; Peder Skyum-Nielsen
2007
ISBN: 978-87-570-1699-4
Hovuddrag i norsk språkhistorie (NO) This link opens in a new window
Arne Torp; Lars S. Vikør
2003
ISBN: 978-82-05-31592-1

Svenska Akademiens ordlista (SE) This link opens in a new window
Den Danske Ordbog (DK) This link opens in a new window
Ordbøkene (NO) This link opens in a new window
Ordbøkene: Bokmålsordboka og Nynorskordboka