Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Course International Relations: Answers

Question 1 + answer

You only want to find books or articles that are available in Groningen/ the University Library has access to. Where can you best find them?

1. A bibliographic database

2. SmartCat

3. Google Scholar

Answer: 

2. SmartCat

SmartCat's default search is Libraries Worldwide, but you can limit your search to the collection of University of Groningen Library or Libraries in the Netherlands.

Question 2 + answer

What is true about searching on the internet?  

1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well. 

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources.

3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find the articles that are in Google Scholar.

Answer:
2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources. However, you will find only some of the articles available through bibliographic databases.

Question 3 + answer

Are these statement true or false?

1. You can find articles in newspapers by searching SmartCat.

2. You can find articles in scholarly journals by searching SmartCat.

3. You can find film-DVD's in the collection of University of Groningen Library by searching SmartCat.

Answer:

1. False. SmartCat does not contain descriptions of articles in newspapers. You have to search the full text newspaper databases to find content.

2. True. SmartCat does contain the descriptions of articles in scholarly journals. You can use the Format filter on the left side of the search screen to limit your search to articles only.

3. True. You can find film-DVD's in the collection of University of Groningen Library by searching SmartCat. You can limit your search range to University of Groningen Library and you can use the Format filter on the left side of the search screen to limit your search to DVD's only.