Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Course International Relations: Test yourself

Question 1

You only want to find books or articles that are available in the University of Groningen Library. Where can you best find them?

  1. A bibliographic database
  2. SmartCat
  3. Google Scholar

Question 2

Open the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and find the record for the article written by Lawson and Buzan about the global transformation in the nineteenth century.

What is the controlled terminology used for indexing this article?

Question 3

Open the bibliographic database Historical Abstracts and find an article published by Vladislav Zubok in the journal Cold war history about Mikhail Gorbachev in the historical period 1988 till 1990 .

In which year was the article published?

Question 4

Open Google Scholar use the advanced search screen to answer the following question.

Christian Reus-Smit wrote an article in the journal Millennium in 2012. How often is this article cited by other scholars (according to Google Scholar)?

Question 5

What is true about searching on the internet?  

  1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well
  2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources
  3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find articles that are in Google Scholar

Answers