Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy History: Answers

Question 1 + answer

You only want to find books or articles that are available in the University of Groningen Library. Where can you best find them?

  1. A bibliographic database
  2. SmartCat
  3. Google Scholar

Answer: 

2. SmartCat

In SmartCat you can limit your search to the collection of the University of Groningen.

Question 2 + answer

Open the DBNG and search for references in the English language on the subject of the city of Groningen. Use the map option, and the keyword for publication language (eng = English). Who wrote an article on Dutch newspapers in 2005?

Answer:

Restrict your result with publication language and geographic location: you will find 12 publications.

Using the map search option, you restrict your search to the geographic location of the city of Groningen ('Groningen (stad)'). When you had only searched for 'Groningen' as keyword, you would have found results on Groningen city ánd province. And without setting the language publication you would have found about 500 results.

Title of the article from 2005: Joop W. Koopmans. 'Supply and the speed of foreign news to the Netherlands during the eighteenth century : a comparison of newspapers in Haarlem and Groningen', in: News and politics in early modern Europe (1500-1800).

Question 3 + answer

Open the bibliographic database Historical Abstracts and find an article written by Vladislav Zubok in the journal Cold war history about Mikhail Gorbachev in the historical period 1988 till 1990.

In which year was the article published?

Answer:

This is a complex question where you have to search for various elements in the database. These elements are:

  • author: Zubok
  • subject: Gorbachev (you are not sure whether Gorbachev is a subject term)
  • historical period: 1988-1990
  • journal title: cold war history

The advanced search is the best option for complex searches.

You search for the term Zubok in the author field

You search for the term "cold war history" in the field for the publication name (=source)

You search for the term Gorbachev in a broad search (=not a specific field)

You search for a historical period that starts in 1988 and ends with 1990

The article was published in November 2014. If you do not put the journal title between quotes, you will find another result, published in 2001.

Question 4 + answer

Open Google Scholar and use the advanced search screen to answer the following question:

Christian Reus-Smit wrote an article in the journal Millennium in 2012. How often is this article cited by other scholars (according to Google Scholar)?

Answer:

Open the advanced search by clicking on the triangle in the search box.

Type the names of Reus-Smit in the author box and the title of the journal in the journal box and 2012 in the date box and you will find the article, with the title 'International Relations, Irrelevant? Don’t Blame Theory'.

On November 2, 2016, 24 citations were counted. It is possible that the score is higher now. This depends on whether new citing articles have been added to the database.

Question 5 + answer

What is true about searching on the internet?  

1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well. 

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources.

3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find the articles that are in Google Scholar.

Answer:

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources. However, you will find only some of the articles available through bibliographic databases.