Skip to main content

Information literacy - American studies: I am looking for data

Data

Not all information you need on a particular subject is easy to find in encyclopaedias, handbooks, monographs or journal articles. There are special databases containing available factual data. The data may be statistics, data relating to countries, or business/company data.

Data are used to substantiate an argument, as comparison material for an analysis (e.g. a market analysis) or as a point of reference for a work process or company process. If you use data you need to refer to the databases where you found them.

In many cases you can export the data from those databases so that you can process them yourself.

Research data

Most scientific research produces research data. These data may take the form of  calculations, test results and random tests, statistical data, models, reports, interviews, film and video etc. Primary publications(dissertations, reports, academic articles) generally contain such research data, or refer to them.

In the previous chapters you have learned how to find articles and reports. Dissertations can be found in SmartCat. RUG dissertations can also be found in the University's online repository. Other universities in the Netherlands have similar repositories (NARCIS)

Nowadays, researchers are expected to upload their (raw) research data to a data archive after finishing their research. Examples of data archives are DANS and Dataverse.

Statistical data

Statistics relating to the Netherlands can be found in Statline, the database of Statistics Netherlands (CBS, Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek).

International statistics can be found in databases such as Eurostat (European Commission), OECDiLibrary (OECD), UN data

World Development Indicators (World Bank). These can be found on the Library portal in the electronic databases list.

Find OECD statistics about the United States here.

Find World development indicators for the United States here.

Find general statistics about the United States here.

Find U.S. Government’s open data  here.

Find US Federal statistics here

FEDSTATS

A list of statistics databases and information about countries is provided here.

Economic and company data

An extensive list of databases containing economic and business data is provided here.