Skip to main content

Information literacy: I want to find news sources

News sources

You can use news sources if you need current up-to-date information about a subject, and also if you want to research the history of a subject using newspaper archives.

There are many freely accessible news sources on the internet. The University of Groningen also provides access to several databases and archives of news sources. 

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic provides access to newspaper articles, company information, and business and legal publications.

This includes:

- Full access to more than 15,000 international newspapers, with archives dating back to 1977
- Access to detailed information on companies in the Netherlands

Newspaper archives

The University Library provides access to a range of historic newspaper archives, including those of The Times, The New York Times, The Guardian, Die Zeit, NRC and Het Financieele Dagblad. The Early American Newspapers database gives access to historical American newspapers from 1690 - 1876.

Delpher

Delpher contains millions of digitized texts from Dutch newspapers, and also books and periodicals. They are fully searchable.

The texts are from the collections of various academic institutions, libraries and heritage institutions, including the University of Groningen. 

Academia

Academia offers online access to nearly 90.000 audio-visual sources from the archives of the Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid.

Historical and recent television, radio and film material is constantly being added to the collection. News and current affairs programmes from public service broadcasting are added daily.

PLease note: the content is in Dutch.