Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information literacy ~Astronomy - Chemistry - Mathematics - Physics: Answers

Question 1 + answer

You only want to find books or articles that are available in Groningen/ the University Library has access to. Where can you best find them?

1. A bibliographic database

2. SmartCat

3. Google Scholar

Answer: 

2. SmartCat

With SmartCat you can specifically search in the content of the university library, as well as in collections held in other libraries within and outside the Netherlands. 

Question 2 + answer

You are looking for research data. Where can you find those?

1. Academic articles and reports

2. Databases

3. Data archives

Answer:

1 and 3.

Research data can be found in academic articles and reports and in data archives. In databases you will mostly find statistic, economic and business data.  

 

Question 3 + answer

What is true about searching on the internet?

1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well. 

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources.

3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find the articles that are in Google Scholar.

Answer:

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources. However, you will find only some of the articles available through bibliographic databases.