Skip to main content

Information Literacy Archaeology: Bibliographic databases

L'Année Philologique

 

L’Année philologique was founded in Paris in 1926 by Jules Marouzeau, and has long been considered an indispensible resource by the research scholars who are its intended users. Its goal is to collect annually scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization (authors and texts ; literature ; linguistics ; political, economic, and social history ; attitudes and daily life ; religion ; cultural and artistic life ; law ; philosophy ; science and technology ; and the history of classical studies). Significant space is accorded to the auxiliary disciplines (archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography). Book notices are followed by a listing of reviews as these are published ; notices of articles include an abstract in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian. L’Année philologique is international in character, not only in terms of the origins of the publications it indexes but also in the diversity of countries where the teams collaborating in its compilation are located (France,Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, and the United States). Every year, its contents are added to the on-line database « L’Année philologique sur Internet », which enables consultation of the entire collection by means of multiple search criteria.

The ADVANCED SEARCH in particular offers many search options. You can limit your search to specific search fields in the description, you can use controlled vocabulary, called THEMATIC SEARCH in AP. In addition, you can filter by specific publication types and by year.

AP has various indexes, but if you want to find out what the relevant controlled vocabulary is for your topic we advise you to to first do a search with your own search words and then to take a look at a relevant article to see which subject terms are mentioned in the description. Then continue your search using AP's subject terms.

Other indexes used by AP are:

  • Author: author's name
  • Places & Nom Récent ("Current names") for countries, areas, cities and more

 

Using the Browse option enables you to browse the index from any search field.

Clicking on the Coverage button allows you to see which journals have been included in the AP.

Link to l'Année Philologique

If you need more information on searching in AP please use the online help:

Help for l'Année Philologique via Brepols

More bibliographical and other databases for archaeology

Zenon DAI

Zenon DAI is the combined catalogue of the archaeological libraries joined in the German Archaeological Institute and the 'Archäologische Bibliographie'.

The Zenon DAI combines archaeological databases, i.e. the catalogues of DAI-libraries in Berlin, Athens, Cairo, Amman, Istanbul, Rome, Madrid and more. 

Link to Zenon DAI

Zenon DAI has two search engines. The old one is not really handy, the Zenon 2.0-version (test bed) is easier to work with. Zenon 2.0 offers a basic and advanced search, and a thesaurus. 

Apart of searching the bibliographic database, Zenon 2.0 offers access to the full text of journals and other publication types.

Zenon has a limited search help, help with the advanced search, and help with search operators.

 

Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis (Dutch historical bibliography)

The DBNG, the Digital Bibliography of the History of the Netherlands, is the most important bibliographic database for Dutch history. Please note: the DBNG consists mostly of references in the Dutch language, only a small part is in English.

If you can read Dutch, the DBNG is the best place to find literature on Dutch history, and for a part, Dutch archaeology!

DBNG

The DBNG contains more than 200,000 titles about the history of all historical periods. So this bibliography contains a large amount of literature about the history of the Netherlands. If you study Dutch history, you cannot get around the DBNG!

Link to DBNG

The advanced search capability of DBNG is limited. Under the drop down menu 'All words' you will find Author and Title searches, as well as Keyword search and Personal Name search.

You can only browse through lists of search results linked to a historical period (the Timeline option). Combining search fields or search results with historical periods does not work. Which is a major drawback for a historical bibliography!

Further searching with the Indices, Map and Timeline options is possible. Browsing through an index is difficult, because you cannot leap through the index. You have to keep on browsing, page by page.

The Map search option works well. Selected provinces or cities are converted into keywords after which search combinations can be made.
DBNG has an online helpfunction.