Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Archaeology: Answers

Question 1 + answer

You only want to find books or articles that are available in the University of Groningen Library. Where can you best find them?

  1. A bibliographic database
  2. SmartCat
  3. Google Scholar

Answer: 

2. SmartCat

In SmartCat you can limit your search to the collection of the University of Groningen.

Question 2 + answer

Open l'Année Philologique and use the geographical index: click in the red bar on More, Indexes. Select the Geographic Subjects index and browse for Pays-Bas. How many Dutch cities have you found in the index? 

Answer:

The names of 4 Dutch cities are present in the Geographic Subjects index, namely Amsterdam Leiden, Nijmegen and Zutphen. The answer is 4!

 

Question 3 + answer

A. Open the bibliographic database Zenon DAI, version 2.0 and search for literature on with the search terms Syria, Palestine and bronze age. How many results do you find?

a. Less than 50

b. 50-75

c. More than 75

 

B. Do the same search using the advanced search with subject terms. How many results do you find?

a. Less than 10

b. 10-20

c. More than 20

 

C. What is the author of the most recent result?

Answers:

A. The answer of question A is b. On 15 June 2017 this question has 57 results.

B. The answer of question B is a. On 15 June 2017 this question has 2 results.

C. The answer of question C is Emanuel Pfoh.

Question 4 + answer

Open Google Scholar and use the advanced search screen to answer the following question:

The Groningen-archaeologists Voutsaki and Nijboer published an article on the Middle Hellenic site of Lerna.

How often is this article cited by other scholars (according to Google Scholar)?

Answer:

Open the advanced search by clicking on the triangle in the search box.

Type the names of Voutsaki and Nijboer in the author box, and Lerna in the all words box.

In June 2017 eight (8) citations were counted. It is possible that the score is higher now. This depends on whether new citing articles have been added to the database.

Question 5 + answer

What is true about searching on the internet?  

1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well. 

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources.

3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find the articles that are in Google Scholar.

Answer:

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources. However, you will find only some of the articles available through bibliographic databases.