Skip to main content

Information Literacy Archaeology: Answers

Question 1 + answer

You only want to find books or articles that are available in Groningen/ the University Library has access to. Where can you best find them?

1. A bibliographic database

2. SmartCat

3. Google Scholar

Answer: 

2. SmartCat

With SmartCat you can specifically search in the content of the university library, as well as in collections held in other libraries within and outside the Netherlands.

Question 2 + answer

What is the best way to find scholarly articles in the field of Archaeology?

The correct answer:

4. Archaeological bibliographic databases. 
 

In an archaeological bibliographic database you can do highly specific and complete searches for scholarly literature on your historical topic.

By using:

1. In SmartCat you find nearly all articles from journals to which the Library has a subscription

2. In Google you find only scientific literature which is freely accessible on the internet. So you miss a lot. Also you get many useless search results

3. In Google Scholar you find many scholarly publications, but you cannot search very specifically

4. Archaeological bibliographic databases

5. In a full-text journal database you are only searching in journals of a particular publisher. Also it is not possible to search very specifially.

Question 3 + answer

What is true about searching on the internet?

 1. You can find all the articles from bibliographic databases with Google Scholar as well. 

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources.

3. With the 'regular' Google you can also find the articles that are in Google Scholar.

Answer:

2. Google Scholar is suited for broad searching in academic sources. However, you will find only some of the articles available through bibliographic databases.