Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide informs you about:
- finding books and articles
- high-quality resources that are a good starting point for your research
- reference managing and library support
- how to recommend a publication for inclusion in the library collection
Reference Works - General
Borchert (ed.), Encyclopedia of Philosophy Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Donald M. Borchert, ed. 2nded. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 7799 pp. 10 vols.
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited by over 500,000 persons per month.
Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” and have largely been adapted from older sources. They are identifiable by the inclusion of the initials “IEP” at the close and will in time be replaced by original articles.
Reference Works - Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online Provides short overviews of many topics in philosophy with reference to key works and recommended readings.
PhilPapers PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Overviews of Current Research
Philosophy Compass This journal publishes articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.
Open Educational Resources for Philosophy
Selected Article Databases
Philosopher's Index Bibliography of articles on philosophy
JSTOR JSTOR currently offers more than 10 million academic journal articles, 50,000 books, and 2 million primary source documents in 75 disciplines
Use this form to recommend a publication for inclusion in the library collection
An overview of the dissertations of the Faculty of Philosophy. Many are open access available.
Latest book publications in philosophy
Check out the latest book publications in philosophy of leading publishers.