Most used biomedical resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and controlled trials
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support information
Clinical information resource to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care

Full list of biomedical resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Search WITHIN clinical medicine e-books from McGraw-Hill Publishing
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine This link opens in a new window
Articles about alternative treatments, coverage mainly European

Anatomy Gym
Educational anatomy game (in Dutch)
Download the app from the App Store or Google Play
more...less...
This app was developed by the UMCG and is useful (and fun) for students who need to learn anatomy for their studies.

AnatomyTOOL This link opens in a new window
AnatomyTOOL is a platform for learning and teaching of Anatomy that offers open, quality reviewed, anatomical learning materials and tools.
AnatomyTOOL offers:
- Best sites with free anatomy materials
- Best anatomy sites per topic
- Help to make distance learning

AnatomyTOOL is under auspices of the Dutch Association of Anatomists (Nederlandse Anatomen Vereniging - NAV). It is developed in collaboration with Dutch and Belgan universities.
Biocyc This link opens in a new window
Collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them (Karp17)
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
The latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion - presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.(Continuation of BMJ Clinical Evidence)
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Read ejournals subscribed for by the university. Make your own bookshelve of journals in your field.
or download the app: http://www.browzine.com/libraries/112/app-promotion
CATdatabank.nl This link opens in a new window
Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) about Nursing. In Dutch.
Alle verpleegkundigen en studenten verpleegkunde die een CAT hebben afgerond, kunnen een account maken en hun CAT uploaden op de site.
Meer info in het tijdschrift: Nursing
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key contains a large number of medical e-books, pictures, videos, guidelines and more from Elsevier Publishing
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and controlled trials
Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Complete Anatomy is an educational three-dimensional (3D) anatomy platform with interactive anatomy models, clinical video animations, and virtual dissection tools.
How to create an account? Read our instructions! Create an account on a RUG- OR UMCG-computer, via Microsoft Store using your student email address or RUG/UMCG email address.
Including: gross anatomy models, microscopic models of tissues and cells, a beating heart, realistic muscle motion, and bone mapping, with clear labeling of parts, surfaces, and landmarks.
Users can isolate body regions, trace the pathways for arteries and nerves, and view nerves with the Innervation Pathway tool. With just a few taps, this tool can help users view the innervating nerves of a muscle and isolate or hide the path to visualize that muscle’s nerve supply.
Users can further customize their view of the body by selecting one or more of twelve body systems, including skeletal and connective tissues, muscular, vascular (venous and arterial), lymphatic, nervous, respiratory, digestive, endocrine, urogenital, and integumentary.
The anatomical model can appear to be placed virtually onto any flat surface using Augmented Reality mode. A multiuser Augmented Reality mode is also available.
Read more: Complete Anatomy: resource review / Sara K Motsinger. In: Journal of the Medical Library Association. Jan. 1 (2020)
Diagnosaurus: Differential Diagnosis Tool This link opens in a new window
Diagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases.
Dissertations University Groningen, Medical Sciences This link opens in a new window
IMAIOS e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive atlas on human anatomy
Use IMAIOS E-Anatomy on your mobile:
- Register for a free account on www.imaios.com
- Download and install IMAIOS e-Anatomy App on your mobile device (free download)
- WiFi connect your device to your Institution's network.
- Start IMAIOS e-Anatomy App and login with your IMAIOS account.
This will activate the modules for 2 weeks.
EBSCOhost Complete This link opens in a new window
Portal to all EBSCO databases, like: AMED, CINAHL, ERIC, Medline, PsycInfo and SocINDEX. With the possibility to select more than one database to search.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Medicine, especially Pharmacology
Note: Embase doesn't work properly with Internet Explorer. Use another browser.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational resources
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly search engine
Human Anatomy Biodigital Tours This link opens in a new window
For the novice or the anatomy genius, simply select an organ or system and then use the buttons on the lower right hand side of the screen to dissect, zoom in and out, remove an organ system, and more!
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Engineering articles, also in the medical field
INVERT This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of nursing journals in Dutch
Index van de Nederlandstalige Verpleegkundige Tijdschriftliteratuur, is een databank met uitgebreide beschrijvingen van alle artikelen die in de Nederlandstalige verpleegkundige tijdschriften verschijnen: TVZ, Cordiaal, Verpleegkunde, Kritiek, Nursing, Nederlands tijdschrift voor wondverzorging, Bijzijn XL, Oncologica, Critical care
Journal Citation Reports (InCites) This link opens in a new window
Impact factors and related citation statistics

JoVE Clinical Skills
Videos about physical examination, emergency medicine and critical care and nursing skills.

Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence and recommendations to help clinicians as they treat and advise patients
UMCG staff: find the Lexicomp app installation code on SharePoint
Master Theses UMCG This link opens in a new window
Theses written by students during research done at the UMCG
Merlot
A collection of free and open, high-quality online course materials for and by the international education community.
NAZ: Nederlandse tijdschriften Artikelendatabank voor de Zorg This link opens in a new window
Artikelen verschenen in Nederlandstalige tijdschriften over gezondheidszorg
De NAZ, Nederlandse Artikelendatabank voor de Zorg is begonnen als bibliografische databank op het gebied van verpleegkunde. In 2013 is besloten om de NAZ uit te bouwen tot een breder bestand dat het hele gebied van de ca. 100 in Nederland verschijnende Nederlandstalige tijdschriften over gezondheidszorg op zal nemen. De databank gaat terug tot 2000, een aantal verpleegkundige kerntijdschriften nog verder.
Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (OMMBID) This link opens in a new window
OMMBID provides encyclopedic coverage of a host of human disorders from the genetic variation to the clinical descriptions and treatment
OvidSP (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Portal to the bibliographical databases of Ovid
PopLine This link opens in a new window
The world's reproductive health literature
Popline ended on September 10, 2019
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 and related resources for psychiatry & clinical psychology
from the American Psychiatric Association (APA)
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Articles on psychology and psychiatry
PsycInfo is the leading international bibliographical database with references for psychology and adjacent fields
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical research articles
Read This link opens in a new window
Journal app
Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Search, analysis and workflow tools for synthetic chemistry
(equivalent of Beilstein & Gmelin)
The Retraction Watch Database This link opens in a new window
Contains retracted scientific articles
Richtlijnen Kwaliteitskoepel Medisch Specialisten This link opens in a new window
Dutch guidelines, protocols and standards
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window
Literature about biochemistry
Bibliography of chemistry and molecular sciences in general (1907-)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
SmartCat This link opens in a new window
Catalogue University of Groningen Library and beyond...
SmartCat is a service for locating literature, containing all printed and electronic works owned by the libraries of the University of Groningen, libraries in the Netherlands and worldwide
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related fields
Springer eBooks 'Ziekenhuis' This link opens in a new window
Doorzoek Nederlandstalige handboeken en tijdschriften over verpleegkunde, zoals Verpleegkundig Vademecum en Critical Care. Veel Nederlandstalig. Alles online beschikbaar
Textbooks for students This link opens in a new window
Overview mandatory textbooks, with links.
Bachelor & Master textbooks for Medicine, Dentistry and Human Movement Sciences.
Ordered per study & year, plus a full list.
With links to the books / e-books
UMCG publications This link opens in a new window
Including dissertations and student theses
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support information
Clinical information resource to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care
USA National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Free access medical databases
Visible Body's Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. It includes all body systems, gross anatomy, and select micro anatomy.
Install the Visible Body app on your mobile
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.

List of all RUG databases

All our experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Medical Sciences

Most used biomedical resources

Full list of biomedical resources

{{subjectTitle}}

All our experts: