This guide covers a set of high-quality information sources for applied linguistics. You can use these sources as a starting point for your research.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database of education-related journals and documents
- Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowBibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowLiterature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Online bibliography on language and literature.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides across a wide variety of subjects.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe leading international bibliography for psychology
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCovers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new windowSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Handbooks and Reference Works
- Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new windowBilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).
Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.
- Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new windowResource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts