Iconclass is a classification system used to describe the subject (objects, characters, events) of works of art. Numerous institutions use Iconclass to describe and classify their collections. Researchers can use Iconclass codes to find works of art with specific subjects. You can browse the classification or use keywords to find classification codes. The Iconclass codes are accompagnied by pictures to illustrate the use of the codes.

RKD Research searches several RKD databases, e.g. RKD Images, RKD Artists, RKD Library. It will retrieve biographical information, publications and images when you enter the name of an artist.

Bonas Archiwijzer is a database with information on Dutch architects, urban developers, interior designers. You will find biographical details, lists of works and publications.

Explore a wide range of primary source collections in AM Global Humanities covering subjects such as
History, English Literature, Gender and Sexuality, Economics and Indigenous Studies.
Use Research Skills Foundations, with learning tools, case studies and practice sources, to develop primary source and
critical thinking skills.

The University Library collects archives of persons connected to the University of Groningen. The archives contain a diverse range of materials: letters, diaries, lecture notes, photographs and more.

These archives, some of which have not yet been inventoried, can make a great research topic.

Check the library guide Archieven or the Archive descriptions on the Special Collections website to find out more.