Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
America : History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that contains references on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that covers publications dealing with East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
JSTOR Security Studies
JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Security Studies is a curated collection of resources focusing on violence and conflict in international relations. The scope of the collection encompasses cyber security, foreign policy, human security, intelligence & espionage, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and political violence & terrorism. The collection includes scholarly journals, other journals and newsletters, reports from think tanks.
Multidisciplinary bibliographic resources
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a very large database with references to scholarly literature. It covers all fields of study.
Web of Science (incl. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database and citation index. The fields of history and international relations are covered by the Social Sciences Citation Index.
Databases with grey literature
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Covers a selection of grey literature in the field of International Relations: working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
International Relations and Area Studies Online. Contains WAO - World Affairs Online, one of the largest social science databases in Europe, containing more than 800.000 references, mainly journal articles, book chapters and grey literature
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Includes announcements, job postings, research and working papers, an e-library of articles (some have a fee), and a professional directory. Some features require the creation of a (free) login.
Bibliographic database with references to economic literature.
The discovery tool of the European Commission Libraries
Questions? Ask the experts: