Skip to Main Content

International Relations

On this page

New Ebooks on our Ebook Platforms

The six links below lead to overviews of new ebooks that enter our collection through our publisher package deals.
For individually purchased print books and ebooks from other publishers, please see below.

New Books (November-December 2024)

War and Its Causes

Black, Jeremy. War and Its Causes. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2019.

Good International Citizenship

Evans, Gareth. Good International Citizenship: The Case for Decency. Clayton, Victoria: Monash University Publishing, 2022.

Missile Envy

Caldicott, Helen. Missile Envy: The Arms Race and Nuclear War. Revised edition. Toronto: Bantam Books, 1986.

Relations and Roles in China’s Internationalism

Shi, Zhiyu. Relations and Roles in China’s Internationalism: Rediscovering Confucianism in a Pluriversal World. Albany: State University of New York Press, 2024.

Research Handbook on Warfare and Artificial Intelligence

Geiss, Robin, and Henning Christian Lahmann, eds. Research Handbook on Warfare and Artificial Intelligence. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar, 2024.

Research Handbook on NATO

Mayer, Sebastian, ed. Research Handbook on NATO. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Research Handbook on Migration and Employment

Meardi, Guglielmo, ed. Research Handbook on Migration and Employment. London: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.

Research Handbook on Cyberwarfare

Stevens, Tim, and Joseph Devanny, eds. Research Handbook on Cyberwarfare. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.

Handbook on the European Union and Brexit

Fossum, John Erik, and Christopher Lord, eds. Handbook on the European Union and Brexit. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Handbook on Global Constitutionalism

Lang, Anthony F., and Antje Wiener, eds. Handbook on Global Constitutionalism. Second edition. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Handbook on Forced Migration

Jacobsen, Karen, and Nassim Majidi, eds. Handbook on Forced Migration. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Handbook on Climate Change and International Security

Trombetta, Maria, ed. Handbook on Climate Change and International Security. Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Handbook of Research Methods in International Relations

Huddleston, R. Joseph, Thomas Jamieson, and Patrick James, eds. Handbook of Research Methods in International Relations. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2022.

Handbook of Middle East Politics

Akbarzadeh, Shahram, ed. Handbook of Middle East Politics. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2023.

Handbook of Comparative Political Institutions

Vatter, Adrian, and Rahel Freiburghaus, eds. Handbook of Comparative Political Institutions. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.

Handbook of Aid and Development

Desai, Raj M., Shantayanan Devarajan, and Jennifer L. Tobin, eds. Handbook of Aid and Development. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.

Technology and the Rise of Great Powers

Ding, Jeffrey. Technology and the Rise of Great Powers: How Diffusion Shapes Economic Competition. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2024.

Reinhold Niebuhr

Sabella, Jeremy L. Reinhold Niebuhr: Amerika’s Politieke Geweten. Translated by Meindert Roelof Kamminga and Simon Polinder. Middelburg: Uitgeverij Skandalon, 2024.

The SAGE Handbook of Asian Foreign Policy

Inoguchi, Takashi, ed. The Sage Handbook of Asian Foreign Policy. London: SAGE Publications, 2020.

New Books (October 2024)

The Soviet Communist Party (3rd Edition) (ebook)

Hill, Ronald J., and Peter Frank. The Soviet Communist Party. Third edition. London: Routledge, 2024. Originally published in 1986.

The Re-Emergence of the Single State Solution in Palestine/Israel

Hussein, Cherine. The Re-Emergence of the Single State Solution in Palestine-Israel: Countering an Illusion. Abingdon: Routledge, 2015.

New Books (September 2024)

Global Political Economy (7th Edition)

Ravenhill, John. Global Political Economy. Edited by Erin Hannah. Seventh edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.

Comparative Government and Politics (12th Edition) - ebook

McCormick, John, Rod Hague, and Martin Harrop. Comparative Government and Politics: An Introduction. 12th edition. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2022.

The Ideal River

Yao, Joanne. The Ideal River: How Control of Nature Shaped the International Order. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2022.

Other Rivers

Hessler, Peter. Other Rivers: A Chinese Education. New York: Penguin Press, 2024.

Pax Economica

Palen, Marc-William. Pax Economica: Left-Wing Visions of a Free Trade World. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2024.

Interspecies Politics

Youatt, Rafi. Interspecies Politics: The Nature of States. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2020.

Underground Empire

Farrell, Henry, and Abraham Newman. Underground Empire: How America Weaponized the World Economy. New York, NY: Henry Holt and Company, 2023.

Bugsplat

Cronin, Bruce. Bugsplat: The Politics of Collateral Damage in Western Armed Conflicts. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2018.

Collateral Damage

Hedges, Chris, Laila Al-Arian, and Eugene Richards. Collateral Damage: America’s War against Iraqi Civilians. New York, NY: Nation Books, 2008.

New Books (July-August 2024)

International Relations Theories (6th Edition)

Dunne, Timothy, Milja Kurki, Katarina Kušić, and Steve Smith, eds. International Relations Theories: Discipline and Diversity. Sixth edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.

Research Handbook on Populism

Stavrakakis, Yannis, and Giorgos Katsambekis, eds. Research Handbook on Populism. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar, 2024.

On the Inaccuracies of Economic Observations

Bergeijk, Peter A. G. van. On the Inaccuracies of Economic Observations: Why and How We Could Do Better. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.

International Trade

Krueger, Anne O. International Trade: What Everyone Needs to Know®. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.

Drone Enlightenment

DeGabriele, Peter. Drone Enlightenment: The Colonial Roots of Remote Warfare. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2023.

New Books (June 2024)

Introduction to International Relations Theories

Lawler, Peter. Introduction to International Relations Theories. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.

Rethinking Political Thinkers

Ramgotra, Manjeet, and Simon Choat, eds. Rethinking Political Thinkers. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2023.

Global Political Economy

Phillips, Nicola, ed. Global Political Economy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2023.

Making a Modern Political Order

Sheehan, James J. Making a Modern Political Order: The Problem of the Nation State. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 2023.

The Populist Temptation

Eichengreen, Barry J. The Populist Temptation: Economic Grievance and Political Reaction in the Modern Era. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2018.

The Holy Alliance

Nakhimovsky, Isaac. The Holy Alliance: Liberalism and the Politics of Federation. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2024.

A More Perfect Union

Livestro, Joshua. A More Perfect Union: Federal Union in Political Theory and Practice, 1500-1951. Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2024.

New Books (May 2024)

Ecofeminism on the Edge

Đurđević, Goran, and Suzana Marjanić, eds. Ecofeminism on the Edge : Theory and Practice. Leeds: Emerald Publishing, 2024.

Handbook on the Geopolitics of the Energy Transition

Scholten, Daniel, ed. Handbook on the Geopolitics of the Energy Transition. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.

Beyond the Drug War in Mexico

Pansters, W. G., Benjamin T. Smith, and Peter Watt, eds. Beyond the Drug War in Mexico: Human Rights, the Public Sphere and Justice. New York: Routledge, 2017.

New Books (April 2024)

Está entre nosotros

Semán, Pablo, ed. Está entre nosotros: De dónde sale y hasta dónde puede llegar la extrema derecha que no vimos venir? Buenos Aires: Siglo XXI Editores Argentina, 2023.

Capitalism in Contemporary Iran

Valadbaygi, Kayhan. Capitalism in Contemporary Iran: Capital Accumulation, State Formation and Geopolitics. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2024.

Globalization and Militarism

Enloe, Cynthia H. Globalization and Militarism: Feminists Make the Link. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2007.

Forgotten Warriors

Percy, Sarah. Forgotten Warriors: A History of Women on the Front Line. London: John Murray, a Hachette Company, 2023.

New Books (March 2024)

International Handbook on Informal Governance

Christiansen, Thomas, and Christine Neuhold, eds. International Handbook on Informal Governance. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar, 2012.

International Relations of the Middle East (6th Edition)

Fawcett, Louise, ed. International Relations of the Middle East. Sixth edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.

Foreign Policy As Public Policy?

Foreign Policy as Public Policy? Promises and Pitfalls. Edited by Klaus Brummer, Sebastian Harnisch, Kai Oppermann, and Diana Panke. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2019.

Epistemologies of Land

Anderl, Felix, ed. Epistemologies of Land. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2024.

The Essentials of Political Analysis

Pollock, Philip H., and Barry C. Edwards. The Essentials of Political Analysis. Sixth edition. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2020.

Smashing Statues

Thompson, Erin L. Smashing Statues: The Rise and Fall of America’s Public Monuments. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2022.

Monumental Cares

Widrich, Mechtild. Monumental Cares: Sites of History and Contemporary Art. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2023.

Unsustainable

Archer, Matthew. Unsustainable: Measurement, Reporting, and the Limits of Corporate Sustainability. New York: New York University Press, 2024.

The Return of the Taliban

Abbas, Hassan. The Return of the Taliban: Afghanistan after the Americans Left. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2023.

The Russian Way of Deterrence

Adamsky, Dmitry. The Russian Way of Deterrence: Strategic Culture, Coercion, and War. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 2023.

New Books (January-February 2024)

The Fold

Deleuze, Gilles. The Fold: Leibniz and the Baroque. Revised edition. London: Continuum, 2006.

When Conscience Calls

Monroe, Kristen Renwick. When Conscience Calls: Moral Courage in Times of Confusion and Despair. Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2023.

The Uniting of Europe (ebook)

Haas, Ernst B. The Uniting of Europe: Political, Social, and Economic Forces, 1950-1957. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 2004. Originally published in 1958.

The Routledge Handbook of Mapping and Cartography

Kent, Alexander, and Peter Vujakovic, eds. The Routledge Handbook of Mapping and Cartography. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2020.

Rebuilding the Post-War Order

McKenzie, Francine. Rebuilding the Post-War Order: Peace, Security and the Un-System. London: Bloomsbury, 2023.

Memory and the Future of Europe (ebook)

Verovšek, Peter J. Memory and the Future of Europe: Rupture and Integration in the Wake of Total War. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2020.

Leaders

Knight, Robin. Leaders: Profiles in Courage and Bravery in War and Peace 1917-2020. La Vergne: Unicorn Publishing Group, 2021.

Le discours philosophique

Foucault, Michel. Le discours philosophique. Edited by François Ewald, Orazio Irrera, and Daniele Lorenzini. Paris: EHESS, 2023.

International Economics (18th Edition)

Pugel, Thomas A. International Economics. Eighteenth edition. International student edition. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Education, 2024.

The Fight of Our Lives

Mendelʹ, I︠ulii︠a︡. The Fight of Our Lives: My Time with Zelenskyy, Ukraine’s Battle for Democracy, and What It Means for the World. Translated by Madeline G. Levine. New York, NY: One Signal Publishers / Atria Books, 2022.

Eurowhiteness

Kundnani, Hans. Eurowhiteness: Culture, Empire and Race in the European Project. London: Hurst & Company, 2023.

The Crisis of the European Union

Habermas, Jürgen. Crisis of the European Union : A Response. Somerset: Wiley, 2014.

Beyond Othering

Mahapatra, Debidatta Aurobinda, and Seema Shekhawat. Beyond Othering: A Gandhian Approach to Conflict Resolution in India and Pakistan. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 2023.

Belonging, Identity, and Conflict in the Central African Republic

Vlavonou, Gino. Belonging, Identity, and Conflict in the Central African Republic. Madison, WI: The University of Wisconsin Press, 2023.

New Books (December 2023)

The Politics of Orientation

Richter, Hannah. The Politics of Orientation: Deleuze Meets Luhmann. SUNY Series in Contemporary Continental Philosophy. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2023.

The Precarity of Masculinity

Kovač, Uroš. The Precarity of Masculinity: Football, Pentecostalism, and Transnational Aspirations in Cameroon. New York: Berghahn Books, 2022.

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts