Library Guides/ German Language & Culture

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for German language & culture that can be a good starting point for your research.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of German linguistics and literary studies, with references to books, journal articles and reviews. Period: 1985-present
Deutsche Historische Bibliographie This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of German history.
Succession of the Jahresberichte zur deutschen Geschichte (discontinued in 2015)
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of German history (publications from 1949 to 2015)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Online bibliography on language and literature.
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Covers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.
Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.

Tatsachen über Deutschland/Facts about Germany
Introduction to Germany made in cooperation with the Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Duden online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rechtschreibung, Grammatik und Bedeutung.
Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).

Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.