Library Guides/ European Languages and Cultures

Bibliographies

Most important bibliographies for general and comparative linguistics, multilingualism and historical linguistics:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Online bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) This link opens in a new window
Database of linguistic properties of languages world-wide.
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of more than 50 authors.
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Research guide for linguistics, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia

dictionaryportal.eu
Guide to online dictionaries of European languages, curated by experts in the European Network of e-Lexicography.

Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).

Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
EUscreen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.