Library Guides/ Minorities & Multilingualism

Welcome

This guide offers a selection of (literature) resources for Minorities & Multilingualism studies. This is the starting point for your research.

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.

The Encyclopedia of European Migration and Minorities
This encyclopaedia presents a systematic overview of the existing scholarship regarding migration within and into Europe.

Oxford handbook of language contact
his book examines the various forms of contact-induced linguistic change and the levels of language which have provided instances of these influences.

The Routledge Handbook of Language Contact
Provides an overview of the state of the art of current research in contact linguistics.
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Superdiversity
Provides an accessible and authoritative overview of the linguistic analysis of interaction in superdiverse cities.

Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).

Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Covers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics, cultural studies, religious studies and anthropology

ABSEES This link opens in a new window
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies : Citations to works published in the United States and Canada dealing with East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic full-text resource on international affairs
EBSEES This link opens in a new window
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (n.b. closed bibliography, 1991-2007)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
ECMI This link opens in a new window
The European Centre for Minority Issues

Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Online bibliography on language and literature
World Atlas of Language Structures This link opens in a new window
A database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials. The atlas provides information on the location, linguistic affiliation and basic typological features of a great number of the world's languages.

For sources on European Languages & Cultures, please consult the
Libguide European Languages & Cultures

For sources on Frisian, please consult the Libguide Friese taal- en cultuur

Stimmen fan Fryslân is een app voor smartphones en het web, ontwikkeld door de vakgroep. Gebruikers van “Stimmen” kunnen woorden inspreken en creëren daarmee een unieke collectie met gesproken taal. Via deze vorm van citizen science worden gegevens verzameld waarop later kennis over taal en taalgebruik wordt gebaseerd. De verzamelde gegevens worden rechtstreeks gedeeld met iedereen via deze website.
Catalogue of endangered languages