Library Guides/ Spanish language and culture

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for Spanish language & culture that can be a good starting point for your research.

Bibliografia Española en linea This link opens in a new window
Spanish national bibliography
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Online bibliography on language and literature.
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media
SciELO Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Articles in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Covers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.

Real Academia Española This link opens in a new window
Van Dale Woordenboeken This link opens in a new window
Includes Spanish-Dutch and Dutch-Spanish dictionaries

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) This link opens in a new window
Database of linguistic properties of languages world-wide.
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of more than 50 authors.
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Research guide for linguistics, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia

Digitalia hispánica This link opens in a new window
6.000+ Spanish e-books from various subject collections.
subscribed collections: History - Political science - Languages, linguistics and philology - Spanish literature criticism

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.

In many bibliographies it is possible to limit your search to (book) reviews.

Spaanstalige dvd's
Spanish films in the library
more...less...
The results list includes films in other languages with spanish subtitles.

RTVE This link opens in a new window
EUscreen This link opens in a new window
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.