Welcome
- A students guide with sources and databases for research in International Law
- If you have a question or experience problems please contact one of the Library's education team members at eduteam-library@rug.nl
Research International Law
- Information Literacy Libguide developed by the RuGAn online course in which most aspects of information literacy are explained.
- List of Commentaries on Treaties (International Law)Commentaries are interesting sources for information, references etc.
- Research in International LawPresentation for the Research Seminar International Law April 2018
- Start your Research in International LawSuggestions from the Peace Palace Library.
How to formulate Research Questions for International Law
Part 1: Introduction
Part 2: Sources
Part 3: Research Methods
Thesis Guide and Referencing
The Oscola Guide contains information (p. 37) how to cite Judgments of the European Court of Human Rights (which is missing in the Oscola Citing International Law Guide).
QUICK LINKS INTERNATIONAL LAW
- United Nations Treaty SERIES (UNTS) This link opens in a new window Includes all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter.
- Overview of databases with UN documentsWhen to use which database?
- ICJ This link opens in a new window Organ of the United Nations seated in The Hague. Settles legal disputes between states and gives advisory opinions on legal questions to the United Nations. Jurisdiction in the proceedings is dependent on the consent of states. Judgments of the Court are binding.
- ICC This link opens in a new window Internationaal Strafhof International Criminal Court (ICC)Permanent strafhof gezeteld in Den Haag opgericht in 1998. Heeft tot taak personen die ‘de meest ernstige internationale misdrijven’ hebben begaan (genocide, misdrijven tegen de menselijkheid en oorlogsmisdrijven) te berechten. Burgers van staten die het statuut ondertekend hebben en die na inwerkingtreding van het statuut dergelijke misdaden gepleegd hebben kunnen vervolgd worden door dit hof.
- ECtHR This link opens in a new window Europees Hof voor de Rechten van de Mens (EHRM) European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) Orgaan van de Raad van Europa gezeteld in Straatsburg opgericht in 1949. Toetst of de verplichtingen uit het Europees Verdrag voor de Rechten van de Mens worden nagekomen. Een klacht over de toepassing van het EVRM kan worden ingediend door een burger, een particuliere organisatie of een lidstaat.
- ECtHR Hudoc This link opens in a new windowThe HUDOC database provides access to the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights.
- Peace Palace Library Collection and Website This link opens in a new window
LLM Thesis Workshop
- Form International LawForm updated september 2018
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Law