Library Guides/ Italian language and culture

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for Italian language & culture that can be a good starting point for your research.

Italinemo This link opens in a new window
Tables of content of journals on Italian literature from 2000 onwards. 'Ricerche' offers the possibility to search for articles or book reviews
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Online bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Covers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.

Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Resource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) This link opens in a new window
Database of linguistic properties of languages world-wide.
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of more than 50 authors.
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Research guide for linguistics, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia

Journals for Italian Studies available in Groningen. (The list includes italian science journals from all disciplines)

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including Dutch and international newspapers

Italinemo This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.

Italian films in the library This link opens in a new window
The search results include dvd's with italian subtitles