In this guide you will find an overview of databases, journals and books on the subject of Journalism and Media Studies. These sources will be a good starting point for the research of bachelors and masters in Journalism and Media Studies.
Bibliographies / Articles
These are the main bibliographies in the field of Journalism and Media studies.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowBibliographical and full-text database on communication and mass media
- Academic Search Premier (ASP) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further back are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Archieven.nl (beeld en geluid) This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOnline bibliography covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics and anthropology
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni is an online database with full text articles from the archives of newspapers and other news resources. International and national newspapers are included, but also e.g. news agencies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCovers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowOnline bibliography for the discipline of sociology and its subdisciplines, including demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, violence, welfare, and many others. It features about 2 million records and contains journal articles, books, papers. For some journals it dates back to 1895.
For direct access to full text documents:
- Select the first icon (in menu on left)
- Select ‘Settings’
- Select ‘Library links’
- Search for: university groningen
- Tick: University of Groningen Library – Get It! Univ of Groningen (un-tick other options)
You will now be able to see, via the Get it! link, whether a document is available through the RUG.
N.B. If you are working via the University network, these links are automatically selected.
Tip: use Advanced search (in menu on left)
Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. RefWorks
- A dictionary of journalism This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of children, adolescents and the media This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Communication and Information This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of journalism This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of new media This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of political communication This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of social networks This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts