On this page you find the most important sources of information in the field of Sociology.
Selected article databases for Sociology
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database for the field of sociology and related fields
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database for the field of psychology
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database for the field of education
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics and anthropology
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
- Electronic databasesThe list of all available databases.
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciencesEncyclopedia about behavioral and social sciences
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryE-book versions of reference works in various fields
- Sage eReferencePortal to subject-specific reference works in the social & behavioral sciences
- Annual reviewsReview articles of the literature on specific topics, with extensive bibliographies
- WikipediaOnline free-content encyclopedia
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection (Social Sciences) This link opens in a new window
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection (Political Science) This link opens in a new window
- Ebook CentralEbook Central's 180.000+ e-books from various academic publishers
- Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)Research methods database and tool
- Springer EbooksAll English e-books published this year and in the past two years.
Electronic theses BSS
- Student Theses Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences (from academic year 2021-22)These online theses are publicly accessible.
- Student Theses Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences (until academic year 2020-21)Note that these online theses are only accessible through Faculty computers at BSS.
A list of available current newspapers and a newspaper archive, licensed by the library or freely available online
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowBritish online newspaper that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
- Financieele Dagblad This link opens in a new windowDutch newspaper focused on business and economics
- The New York Times This link opens in a new windowOnline access to The New York Times articles from 1851-1922 and from 1980 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowDutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
Online archive Dutch newspapers
- Delpher (kranten) This link opens in a new windowDigitized Dutch newspapers from 1618 to 1995
Selected journals for Sociology
The selection of journals below is limited to general sociology journals, and inevitably somewhat arbitrary. For a more complete, alphabetical list, see this list,
- Annual Review of Sociology This link opens in a new window
- Blackwell Sociology Compass This link opens in a new window
- American Journal of Sociology This link opens in a new window
- American Sociological Review This link opens in a new window
- Sociological Methods & Research This link opens in a new window
- Sociology This link opens in a new window
- Kölner Zeitschrift für Soziologie und Sozialpsychologie This link opens in a new window
Related Library Guides
- Psychology This link opens in a new window
- Pedagogy and Educational Sciences This link opens in a new window
Information Literacy Skills
If you need help searching for academic literature, and how to use it, please visit:
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Behavioural & Social Sciences