Attribution
This LibGuide is based on the Libguide Systematic Reviews from the Vrije Universiteit medical library, Amsterdam
Tip: watch this video
What is a systematic review?
Systematic reviews seek to collate evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to answer a specific research question. They aim to minimize bias by using explicit, systematic methods documented in advance with a protocol.
Higgins JPT, Thomas J, Chandler J, Cumpston M, Li T, Page MJ, Welch VA (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.3 (updated February 2022). Cochrane, 2022. Available from https://training.cochrane.org/handbook/current/chapter-i
The infographic: steps 'What authors do' working on a systematic review
Designed by Jessica Kaufman, Cochrane Consumers & Communication Review Group, Centre for Health Communication & Participation, La Trobe University, 2011. Avalable from https://cccrg.cochrane.org/Infographics
Search Strategy Support
Welcome
Developing a systematic search strategy can be a challenging task. We offer workshops and individual support for staff members and students of the UMCG and UG. We provide regular advice as well as collaboration (with co-authorship) in systematic (and scoping) reviews.
Go to: Make an Appointment (Search strategy)
We offer two types of Search support: regular advice and collaboration.
What is the difference and what can you expect?
- Regular advice: This type of support is recommended when you have a general question, if you work on a Critically appraised topic or a non-systematic research project. Send us your search strategy (with MeSH and text words). We give feedback on the research question, the structure of the search strategy and give suggestions for further development of the search. After the meeting we will send you the document with feedback. Based on the tips we provide, you will further develop the search strategies yourself and translate these to other databases.
- Collaboration (co-authorship): Recommended if you start with a systematic (or scoping) review with the intention to publish. You ask an information specialist to be part of the review team. If we agree on collaboration, we make a plan for the search strategy development. This involves finetuning the research question, feedback on the protocol, selection of databases, research related to the search, the development, validation and translation of the search strategies. We document the search process and we write (or assist in writing) the methods and supplement for the protocol and the final manuscript. The information specialist is co-author of the review.
Ask us for more information about the role of an information specialist and an overview of the tasks.
Contact: literaturesearch@umcg.nl
How can the Medical Library help?
Research librarians can partner with you on systematic reviews.
Add us to your author team and we will design and manage complex, thorough searches in multiple databases. We will also provide you with:
-
advise on reference management (EndNote),
-
tables with detailed search strategies,
-
a narrative of the search methodology.
New (E)BOOKS about Systematic Reviews / Evidence Based Medicine
Realist trials and systematic reviews : rigorous, useful evidence to inform health policy
This book proposes how realist evaluation methods may be incorporated within randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews. This enables evaluations and evidence synthesis to benefit from the more nuanced questions posed within realist enquiry while maintaining rigour in assessing causality.
E-book
Principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis
Written by clinicians, this reader friendly book will help readers in developing skills for using systematic reviews and meta-analyses as the best source of evidence for guiding clinical practice and research.
E-book
How to perform a systematic literature review : a guide for healthcare researchers, practitioners and students
The systematic review is a rigorous method of collating and synthesizing evidence from multiple studies, producing a whole greater than the sum of parts. This textbook is an authoritative and accessible guide to an activity that is often found overwhelming. The authors steer readers on a logical, sequential path through the process, taking account of the different needs of researchers, students and practitioners.
E-book
EBP Praktisch
Dit boek helpt (para)medici en verpleegkundigen (in opleiding) bij het aanleren en toepassen van de vaardigheden die horen bij het evidence-based werken. Het leert je hoe Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) gebruikt kan worden bij de dagelijkse zorg voor patiënten.
Gedrukt boek en e-book
Comprehensive systematic review for advanced practice nursing
This text provides top-tier guidance on how to use available research for improving patient outcomes and reducing costs. It is the only resource written expressly to meet the objectives of DNP courses.
E-book
A Step-by-Step Guide to Conducting an Integrative Review
This book provides guidance to readers for how to conduct an integrative review. Due to the overlapping characteristics of the various review methods, confusion exists related to terminology, descriptions and methods of each type. To fill this gap, this book examines components necessary to conduct a rigorous integrative review from formulating questions through dissemination of the results of the review.
E-book
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data.
Print book
Hoe maak ik een CAT : handleiding voor de verpleegkunde
Dit boek beschrijft stap voor stap hoe je een Critical Appraisal of a Topic (CAT) naar een verpleegkundig onderwerp uitvoert, op een leuke, eenvoudige manier, die niet veel tijd kost. Het boek helpt bovendien om de resultaten te koppelen aan de verpleegkundige praktijk.
Gedrukt boek en e-book (maximaal 3 gelijktijdige users)
Effectief zoeken en beoordelen van medische literatuur : inclusief een praktische PubMed handleiding
In dit boek wordt duidelijk gemaakt hoe een klinische vraag kan worden omgezet in een beantwoordbare vraag. Vervolgens wordt uitgelegd hoe met deze beantwoordbare vraag effectief naar medische informatie kan worden gezocht.
Print book only, request via link
Zonder context geen bewijs : over de illusie van evidence-based practice in de zorg
‘Evidence-based’: het is een toverformule die is doorgedrongen tot in de haarvaten van de praktijk, het beleid en de financiering van de zorg. De onderliggende aanname is dat bewezen zorg ook altijd goede zorg is. In dit boek wordt deze aanname aan een kritisch onderzoek onderworpen: wat is dan het bewijs en hoe is het tot stand gekomen en is het bewijs ook houdbaar in verschillende situaties?
E-book
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
This book contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane.
Contact
