Skip to main content

Medical e-Journals: How to get the PDF?

Start Page focussing on the large medical E-Journal collection available to UMCG & the medical Journal Apps

How to get the PDF?

PDFHow to get the PDF-file inside and outside the collection of the library

ALL OPTIONS

1. The Get-it button

Get it! buttonThe Get-it! button is presented in almost all our scientific bibliographic databases, like Pubmed, Web of Science etc.

To see the button, ALWAYS start using PubMed or any other database, e-journal or e-book via our website: www.rug.nl/cmb

2. Use the DOI-link in Pubmed

DOI codeUse the DOI-link presented in each PubMed-record, if you think the Get it!-button is not working properly.

  • If you can download the PDF there, then the library has a subscription (or it's free or Open Access).
  • If you can not download the PDF from there, we do not have a current subscription for access to the full-text.

3. Use Eduroam wifi in the UMCG

EduroamUsing the Eduroam wifi inside the UMCG, will get you access to the PDF without having to use the library proxy

login! On a collection size of 50.000 online journals, there is always a small amount of ongoing issues. Please contact us, if you notice something is wrong (cmb@umcg.nl)

4. Connect-tool in your browser

Connect buttonNo matter where you are online, this button will take you from the so-called PAYWALL, directly to the PDF, with a push of the button (via the library proxy-login)

Details on how to install the CONNECT-button are in this manual.

5. Open access button

open access buttonThis button works in Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer and Edge.

You have to do a simple email login, to install it.

https://openaccessbutton.org/

6. Google Scholar button

SimularGoogle Scholar connect button to the CONNECT-button, but the Google Scholar button also searches for all possible other available PDFs out there of the same publication.

For CHROME | Firefox

7. Kopernio

KopernioGet instant notifications of available versions from your library or otherwise. If you register with your institutional email, you will never have to login again off-campus to get your PDFs, thanks to the connected proxy-settings. Promising features like a personal locker, saved articles and more

http://kopernio.com (α-testing & free for now )

8. Use unpaywall in your browser

unpaywallGet full-text of research papers as you browse, using Unpaywall's index of 10 million legal, open access articles.

Unpaywall works with Firefox or Chrome on your desktop computer http://unpaywall.org/

9. Hashtag #Icanhazpdf

# i can haz pdf ?Use the hashtag #icanhazpdf together with a link to the requested publication; if somebody has access, they can send you the PDF.

10. Request the PDF via the library

This is not free, but often a fast option, and much cheaper than buying it from the publisher. We have special rates for staff, phd's and students! This is our request-a-copy form of the CMB UMCG.

11. Request a copy via the author

request full-textRequest a copy from the AUTHOR directly: often not the fastest way, but traditionally a well-used route to get pdf's .

12. Buy from the publisher

Purchase PDFYou can of course buy it from the Publisher or Journal itself anyway...

13. Use the Read journal app

Go to: www.readbyqxmd.com
By registering as Universitair Medisch Centrum Groningen staff member, ánd the use of the library proxy-login, you can get:

  • a personalized way of access to the latest medical publications,
  • alerts on new content relevant for you,
  • ánd of course, direct access to the PDFs.

14. Use the BrowZine journal app

BrowZineGo to: http://browzine.com

By registering as University of Groningen/UMCG staff ánd the use of the library proxy-login, you can get a personalized way of access to all Tables of Content you wish for, ánd direct access to the PDFs of ALL our e-journals.

15. Try ResearchGate

Research GateMany researchers have joined the social network for scientists ResearchGate. And many make their pdf's (with and without copyright) available inside ResearchGate for download, or offer the option to request it from the author. We know that this is also possible in Academia.edu

16. If all else fails.. Sci-Hub?

Sci-HubIf all else fails, you have the option to consider using Sci- Hub. There is however a big BUT! There is a risk in using this "service". In many countries the use of Sci-Hub is considered as an "illegal act", as if involves content protected by copyright laws. As library, we can not advice the use of Sci-Hub, but research shows the use is worldwide ánd substantial. Use at your own risk.

Questions? Need help?

Please contact us, if you need help using one or more of these tools or tips. Also if you notice something is wrong email: cmb@umcg.nl website www.umcg.nl/cmb

 

Print format of this article

Acknowledgement

Great thanks to Björn Brembs blog post: "So your institute went cold turkey on publisher X. What now?"

Contact

Guus van den Brekel's picture
Guus van den Brekel
Contact:
CMB, UMCG
+31 610900687
+315036194
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:- Medicine