Alpheios & Diogenes
- Alpheios This link opens in a new windowGOAL
To make reading and learning mankind's most beautiful and significant classical languages as easy and enjoyable as possible. The Alpheios Reading tools can currently be used with texts in Latin, ancient Greek and Arabic. - Diogenes This link opens in a new windowDiogenes is a tool for searching and browsing the databases of ancient texts, primarily in Latin and Greek, that are published by the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae and the Packard Humanities Institute.
Language Dictionaries
- Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).
Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.
Brill's New Pauly Online / Der Neue Pauly
- Brill's New PaulyBrill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world. The section on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe.
- New Pauly Online (English)Der Neue Pauly – published in print by Metzler Verlag – is the most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world currently available. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of Greco-Roman Antiquity and the reception of this in the two thousand years that followed.
Der Neue Pauly / Brill's New Pauly Online
- Der Neue Pauly (German)Call Number: Arts Collection 13.501 G06 (2nd floor University Library)Der Neue Pauly – published in print by Metzler Verlag – is the most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world currently available. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of Greco-Roman Antiquity and the reception of this in the two thousand years that followed.
- Brill's New Pauly (English)Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
Herrscherchronologien der Antiken Welt: Namen, Daten, Dynastien by Publication Date: 2004Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 1
Chronologies of the Ancient World: Names, Dates and Dynasties by Publication Date: 2006Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 1
Geschichte der Antiken Texte: Autoren- und Werklexikon by Publication Date: 2007Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 2
Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts by Publication Date: 2009Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 2
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World by Publication Date: 2010Brill's New Pauly Online Supplements, Volume 3
Rezeptions- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte: Register zu den Bänden 13-15/3 des Neuen Pauly by Publication Date: 2005Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 4
No English version available
Mythenrezeption: Die antike Mythologie in Literatur, Musik und Kunst von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart by Publication Date: 2008Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 5
The Reception of Myth and Mythology by Publication Date: 2010Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 4
Geschichte der Altertumswissenschaften: Biographisches Lexikon by Publication Date: 2012Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 6
History of Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Dictionary by Publication Date: 2013Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 6
Die Rezeption der Antiken Literatur: Kulturhistorisches Werklexikon by Publication Date: 2010Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 7
The Reception of Classical Literature by Publication Date: 2012Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 5
Historische Gestalten der Antike: Rezeption in Literatur, Kunst und Musik by Publication Date: 2013Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 8
Figures of Antiquity and Their Reception in Art, Literature and Music by Publication Date: 2016Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 7
Renaissance-Humanismus: Lexikon zur Antikerezeption by Publication Date: 2014Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 9
The Reception of Antiquity in Renaissance Humanism by Publication Date: 2017Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 8
Frühgeschichte der Mittelmeerkulturen: Historisch-archäologisches Handbuch by Publication Date: 2015Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 10
The Early Mediterranean World, 1200-600 BC by ISBN: 9789004339323Publication Date: 2018Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 9
Byzanz: Historisch-kulturwissenschaftliches Handbuch by ISBN: 9783476024220Publication Date: 2016Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 11
History and Culture of Byzantium by ISBN: 9789004339330Publication Date: 2019Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 10
Militärgeschichte der Griechisch-Römischen Antike by Publication Date: 2022Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 12
This title is not yet available online
English edition not yet published
Das 18. Jahrhundert: Lexikon zur Antikerezeption in Aufklärung und Klassizismus by Publication Date: 2018Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 13
The Reception of Antiquity in the Age of Enlightenment by Publication Date: 2021Brill's New Pauly Supplements, Volume 12
Die Germanen und das Römische Reich: Historisch-archäologisches Lexikon by Publication Date: 2024Der Neue Pauly Supplemente, Band 14
This title has not yet been published
Bibliographies
These are the main bibliographies on Ancient History
- ZENON DAI This link opens in a new windowCombined catalogue of the archaeological libraries joined in the German Archaeological Institute and the 'Archäologische Bibliographie'.
- Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical list of Open Access journals in Ancient Studies
Loeb Classical Library
The complete Loeb Classical Library, 520 volumes of Greek and Latin literature, with English translation.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Where can I find literature and data?
Related Library Guides
About Google Books in Dutch and English (by University of Utrecht Library)
BrowZine
The easiest way to keep up to date with the latest articles in your research field!
Google Search
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor direct access to full text documents:
Click on Settings - Library links : choose University of Groningen options + Open Worldcat (if not shown, type 'Groningen'). Links to full text (if available) will be shown in your search results.
Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. Endnote - Google Books This link opens in a new window
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts