Library Guides/ Medieval History 500-1500 AD

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for medieval history that can be a good starting point for your research.

Note: No new monographs have been added to this guide for several years.
Links to online database were last checked in October 2024.

International Medieval Bibliography - Bibliography on the Middle Ages in Europe
Combined search in IMB, BCM and IBHR providing access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
The IMB - International Medieval Bibliography is the important bibliography for medieval history in Europe.

Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new window
Bibiography of the Middle Ages (from the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale).

Iter, Gateway to the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Portal to bibliography and other databases on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

Regesta-Imperii
The Regesta-Imperii-Opac is a freely accessible database, covering all disciplines of medieval sciences for the European language sphere.

Bibliography of British & Irish History. Turnhout, 2009- . This link opens in a new window
Historical bibliography on British Isles and Commonwealth; Period: from 55 b.c. - .

Historical Abstracts
Bibliography on the world's history (except USA and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte
German historical bibliography.
more...less...
The Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte list German- and foreign-language academic publications on German history. This is the most comprehensive subject bibliography of its kind. Monographs, edited volumes (including individual contributions), periodical articles, source editions, reference works and bibliographies are registered. If possible, literature that is not distributed via the publication market is also included. Works in neighbouring disciplines as well as the historical ancillary sciences are taken into account if relevant to German history.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities part of the 'Web of Science' database. multidisciplinary.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of major religious and theology journals. (1949 to present).
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic reading guides for the subject of Renaissance and Reformation.
Periodical Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Achival issues of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Covers many journals from their very beginning, until 1995.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals (humanities and social sciences).

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For direct access to full text documents:
Click on Settings - Library links : choose University of Groningen options + Open Worldcat (if not shown, type 'Groningen'). Links to full text (if available) will be shown in your search results.

Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. Endnote
Covers articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.C
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Google Books is een zoekservice van Google Inc. die zoek in de full text van boeken die door Google zijn gescand, via Optical Character Recognition (OCR) op tekst doorzoekbaar zijn gemaakt en opgenomen in de digitale database van Google Books. De database bevat boeken die vrij van rechten zijn en gratis te raadplegen zijn, maar ook boeken van uitgevers waarvan alleen gedeelten te zien zijn.

Goetz, H.-W. Proseminar Geschichte: Mittelalter. Stuttgart, 1993. This link opens in a new window
Contains references to collections of (translated) primary, historical sources.