- Library
- LibGuides
- Medieval History 500-1500 AD
- Eastern Mediterranean
Welcome
Resources for the history of the Eastern Mediterranean (Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Turkey).
International Medieval Bibliography
- International Medieval Bibliography - Bibliography on the Middle Ages in EuropeCombined search in IMB, BCM and IBHR providing access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
The IMB - International Medieval Bibliography is the important bibliography for medieval history in Europe.
Other bibliographic databases
- Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new windowBibiography of the Middle Ages (from the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale).
Lexikon des Mittelalters
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia for the Middle Ages (LexMA) and supplement (IEMA)
Encyclopedic Reference
- AbuKhalil, Asʿad. Historical dictionary of Lebanon. Lanham, MD., 1998. This link opens in a new window
- Commins, David. Historical dictionary of Syria. Lanham, MD., 1996. This link opens in a new window
- Kazhdan, Alexander P. Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. Oxford, 2005. This link opens in a new window
- Roth, Norman, ed. Medieval Jewish civilization : an encyclopedia. New York, N.Y., 2003. This link opens in a new window
- Veremis, Thanos M. en Mark Dragoumis. Historical dictionary of Greece. Metuchen, NJ., 1995. This link opens in a new window
Social Economic Reference
Handbooks
- Abulafia, David. The great sea : a human history of the Mediterranean. Londen, 2011.ISBN: 9780713999341Publication Date: 2011
Cameron, Averil. The Byzantines. Malden, MA, 2007.ISBN: 9780631202622
Cook, Michael, ed. The New Cambridge History of Islam. Cambridge, 2010.ISBN: 9780521515368Click Related for specific volumes.
Gregory, Timothy. A History of Byzantium. Malden, MA, 2005.ISBN: 0631235124
Hillenbrand, C. Islam : a new historical introduction. London, 2015.ISBN: 9780500110270
Mango, Cyril, ed. The Oxford History of Byzantium. Oxford, 2002.ISBN: 0198140983
Stiles, Andrina. The Ottoman Empire, 1450-1700. Londen, 1991.ISBN: 0340569999
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts