Skip to Main Content

Library Guides/ Medieval History 500-1500 AD

Welcome

On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of the Middle East in the Middle Ages.

International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography - Bibliography on the Middle Ages in Europe
Combined search in IMB, BCM and IBHR providing access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
The IMB - International Medieval Bibliography is the important bibliography for medieval history in Europe.

Lexikon des Mittelalters

Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages (LexMA) and supplement (IEMA)

Encyclopedic Reference

The New Cambridge History of the Islam. Cambridge, 2010.
Click Related for specific volumes.
Dumper, Michael R.T. en Bruce E. Stanley. Cities of the Middle East and North Africa : a historical encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA, 2007.

Meri, Josef W., ed. Medieval Islamic Civilization. New York, 2006.
ISBN: 9780415966900

Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Touati, François-Olivier . Vocabulaire historique du Moyen Âge. Parijs, 1997.

Handbooks

Beatty, John L. en Oliver A. Johnson. Heritage of Western Civilization. Englewood Cliffs, N.J., 1995.
ISBN: 0131048600
Davidson, Lawrence en Arthur Goldschmidt. A Concise History of the Middle East. Boulder, Colo., 2005.
ISBN: 0813342759
Hillenbrand, Carole. Islam : a new historical introduction. London, 2015.
ISBN: 9780500110270
Tyerman, Christopher. Gods War: a new history of the Crusades. Londen, 2007.
ISBN: 9780140269802
Fleming, K. E. and Adnan A. Husain. A Faithful Sea. Oxford, 2007.
ISBN: 9781851684960

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts