Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page you find an overview of the most important resources in the fields of Modern and Contemporary History.
For Ancient, Medieval and Early-Modern History you can use the specialized libguides for those periods.
A searchable collection of online reference books including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks.
European Holocaust research infrastructure
The aim of this project is to bring together and connect museums, libraries, archives and institutions that hold important and/or original material related to Jewish history, culture and life in Europe.
Key bibliographies for modern and contemporary history
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.
America: history & life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada,
from prehistory to the present.
More bibliographic resources
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database that provides access to journal articles in all academic disciplines. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Key bibliography in the social sciences. Covers publications in the fields of contemporary politics, international relations, economics and more. The database is relevant to contemporary history.
Very large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. With over 21,500 titles in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and arts and humanities.
Information literacy / Informatievaardigheden