Skip to Main Content

Library Guides/ Modern and Contemporary History 1800 AD - Present

Welcome

On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of Asia.

Web resources

Key bibliography

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains references on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from and about South Asia. SAOA was developed by 25 partner libraries, and is administered by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and presented openly online in partnership with JSTOR.

Handbooks on the history of Asia

Kaup, Katherine Palmer. Understanding Contemporary Asia Pacific Boulder, 2007.
ISBN: 9781588260864
Pike, Francis. Empires at War : A Short History of Modern Asia Since World War II. London, 2010.
ISBN: 9780857719409

Miller, John H. Modern East Asia : An Introductory History. Abingdon, Oxon, 2015.
ISBN: 9781317464631

Ricklefs, M. C. e.a. A New History of Southeast Asia. Basingstoke, 2010.
ISBN: 0230212131
Owen, Norman G, ed. Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian History. New York, 2014.
ISBN: 9780415587259

Elphinstone, Mountstuart. The History of India. Vol.2 Cambridge, 2013.
ISBN: 9781108056229
Johnson, Gordon, C.A Bayly, and John F Richards. The New Cambridge History of India Cambridge etc., 1987-...
ISBN: 9780521228022
Metcalf, Barbara Daly, and Thomas R Metcalf. A Concise History of Modern India. 3rd ed. Cambridge England, 2012.
ISBN: 9781139528887
Robb, Peter. A History of India. 2nd ed. Basingstoke, 2011.
ISBN: 9780230279827
Talbot, Ian. Pakistan : A New History. London, 2012.
ISBN: 9781849042031

Zheng, Yongnian, ed. Contemporary China : A History Since 1978. Hoboken, 2014.
ISBN: 9780470655801

Kingston, Jeff. Japan in Transformation, 1945-2010. Second edition. London, 2011.
ISBN: 9781408234518
Walker, Brett L. A Concise History of Japan. Cambridge, 2015.
ISBN: 9780511783043

Seth, Michael J. A Concise History of Modern Korea : From the Late Nineteenth Century to the Present. Lanham, Md., 2010.
ISBN: 9780742567146

Bose, Sugata, and Ayesha Jalal. Modern South Asia : History, Culture, Political Economy. 3rd ed. London, 2011.
ISBN: 9780415779432

Cambridge Elements series on politics and society in Southeast Asia

Cambridge Elements series: Politics and Society in Southeast Asia
Short introductions (about 60 pages) about recent developments in Southeast Asia.

Reference

Handbooks on contemporary politics and foreign affairs

Beeson, Mark, and Richard Stubbs, ed. Routledge Handbook of Asian Regionalism. London: Routledge, 2012.
ISBN: 9780415580540
Brass, Paul R., ed. Routledge Handbook of South Asian Politics : India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal. Routledge International Handbooks. London: Routledge, 2010.
ISBN: 9780415434294
Gaunder, Alisa, ed. The Routledge Handbook of Japanese Politics. London: Routledge, 2011.
ISBN: 9780415551373
Jacobsen, Knut A, ed. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary India. London: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016.
ISBN: 9780415738651
Kohli, Atul, and Prerna Singh, ed. Routledge Handbook of Indian Politics. London: Routledge, 2013
ISBN: 9780415776851
Lim, Timothy C. Politics in East Asia : Explaining Change and Continuity. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner, 2014.
ISBN: 9781626370555
Robison, Richard, ed. Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Politics. London: Routlege, 2011.
ISBN: 9780415494274

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts