Welcome
On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of France.
Reference
- Historical dictionary of France. 2e ed. Lanham, MD, 2008. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of France from the 1815 Restoration to the Second Empire. New York, 1987. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991. New York [etc.],1992. This link opens in a new window
- Scott, Samuel F. en Barry Rothaus. Historical dictionary of the French Revolution 1789-1799. Westport, CT, 1985. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940. New York, 1986. This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary
- Dictionnaire de biographie française. Parijs, 1933-... This link opens in a new window
Key bibliography
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
More bibliographic resources
- Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France du cinquième siècle à ... / Comité français des sciences historiques This link opens in a new window
Handbooks I
- The Cambridge History of Modern France, Cambridge, 1983-2000Multi-volume handbook about the period 1815-1974.
Crook, Malcolm, ed. Revolutionary France Oxford, 2002.ISBN: 9780198731870
Handbooks II
McMillan, James F. Modern France : 1880-2002. Oxford, 2003.ISBN: 9780198700593
Norwich, John Julius. A History of France. New York, 2018.ISBN: 9780802128904
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts