Skip to Main Content

Library Guides/ Modern and Contemporary History 1800 AD - Present

Handbooks

Harrison, Brian. Finding a role? : the United Kingdom 1970-1990. Oxford, 2010
ISBN: 9780199548750
Harrison, Brian. Seeking a role: the United Kingdom, 1951-1970. Oxford, 2009.
ISBN: 9780198204763
Hilton, Boyd. A mad, bad, and dangerous People? : England, 1783-1846. Oxford, 2006.
ISBN: 9780198228301
Hoppen, K. Theodore. The Mid-Victorian Generation, 1846-1886. Oxford, 1998. by .
ISBN: 0198228341
Searle, G. R. A new England? Peace and war, 1886-1918. Oxford, 2004.
ISBN: 019820714X

Key bibliographies

Bibliography of British & Irish History. Turnhout, 2009- .
Historical bibliography on British Isles and Commonwealth; Period: from 55 b.c. - .
Irish History Online
Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.

Webresources

British History Online

Handbooks on economic and social history

Reference

John Cannon, Robert Crowcroft, eds. by A dictionary of British History. Oxford, 2015
ISBN: 9780191758027
Donnelly, James S. Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture. Farmington Hills, MI, 2004.
ISBN: 9780028659022
Matthew, H. C. G. en Brian Harrison, eds. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Oxford, 2004.
ISBN: 019861411X

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts