Library Guides/ Modern and Contemporary History 1800 AD - Present

Welcome

On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of Africa.

Handbooks on history

Iliffe, John. Africans : The History of a Continent 3rd ed. African Studies Series, 137. Cambridge, United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press, 2017.
ISBN: 9781107198326
Parker, John, and Richard J Reid. The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History. New York, 2013.
ISBN: 9780199572472
Reid, Richard J. History of Modern Africa : 1800 to the Present. 2nd ed. Oxford, 2012.
ISBN: 9780470658987
Shillington, Kevin. History of Africa. 4th ed. London: Red Globe Press, 2019.
ISBN: 9781137504036

Key bibliography

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.

More bibliographic resources

AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
AJOL: African Journals OnLine This link opens in a new window
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is an online service to provide access to African-published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.
AJOL is a Non Profit Organisation based in South Africa.
ASA-Online (2003-2017) (discontinued) This link opens in a new window
Free abstract service by the African Study Center in Leiden.
Catalogue African Studies Centre. Leiden. This link opens in a new window
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that covers 350 (most scholarly) periodicals from 29 African countries. The database is provided by the Nairobi Office of the U.S. Library of Congress.

Web portals

African Studies Internet Resources This link opens in a new window
Africa south of the Sahara This link opens in a new window
Afrique francophone This link opens in a new window

Handbooks on contemporary politics and foreign affairs

Reference

An African biographical dictionary / Norbert C. Brockman This link opens in a new window
Published in 2006.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World This link opens in a new window
Published in 2004.
New encyclopedia of Africa This link opens in a new window
Published in 2008.

Specific countries

Ross, Robert, Anne Kelk Mager, and Bill Nasson. The Cambridge History of South Africa. Vol. Volume 2, 1885-1994 /. Cambridge History of South Africa. Cambridge, 2011.
ISBN: 9780521869836
2 vol.
Thompson, L.M. A History of South Africa. Edited by Lynn Berat. Fourth edition /. New Haven, 2014.
ISBN: 9780300189353
Daly, M. W. The Cambridge History of Egypt. Vol. 2, Modern Egypt, from 1517 to the End of the Twentieth Century. Cambridge, 1998.
ISBN: 9780521472111
Rolandsen, Øystein H, and M. W Daly. A History of South Sudan : From Slavery to Independence>. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013.
ISBN: 9780521133258
McDougall, James. A History of Algeria. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2017.
ISBN: 9780521851640
Reid, Richard J. A History of Modern Uganda. Cambridge, United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press, 2017.
ISBN: 9781107671126

<< Previous: The Middle East
Next: Asia >>

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts

©2022 University of Groningen | Design & Development: ambacht media | Admin login | Report a problem.

LibGuides of the University Library Groningen may be re-used under this Creative Commons license. Please state: "Based on a University Library Groningen publication on http://libguides.rug.nl/."