Welcome
On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of Eastern Europe.
This page groups together states that belonged to the Eastern Bloc in the Cold War era: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova, Poland. Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.
Handbooks on the history of Central European countries
Handbooks on contemporary politics and foreign affairs
- Routledge Handbook of Russian Politics and Society. New York, 2011. This link opens in a new window
Key bibliographic database
- American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
More bibliographic resources
- Bibliographic database on the History of East Central Europe This link opens in a new window
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new window
- European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) This link opens in a new window
Specific Eastern European Countries New
Mazower, Mark. The Balkans : A Short History. New York, 2000.ISBN: 9780812966213
Carmichael, Cathie. A Concise History of Bosnia. New York, 2015.ISBN: 9781107602182
Crampton, Richard J. Bulgaria. New York, 2007.ISBN: 9780199541584
Prazmowska, Anita. Poland: a modern history. Basingstoke. 2010.ISBN: 9781848852730
Handbooks on the history of Communism and the Cold War
Reference works
- Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism. New York [etc.], 2000. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Albania. 2e ed. Lanham, MD, 2010 [1996]. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Croatia. 3e ed. Lanham, MD, 2010. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Estonia. Lanham, MD, 2004. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Kosovo. 2e ed. Lanham, MD, 2011. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Lithuania. 2e ed. Lanham, MD, 2011. This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of the Republic of Macedonia. Lanham, MD, 2009. This link opens in a new window
- Saunders, Robert A. en Vlad Strukov. Historical dictionary of the Russian Federation. Lanham, MD, 2010. This link opens in a new window
Handbooks on Russian history
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts