Library Guides/ Modern and Contemporary History 1800 AD - Present

Reference works on news media

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Lexis Nexis Newsportal offers full-text articles from Dutch and foreign newspapers. Text only, no photos, charts or illustrations. Articles by freelance journalists are not always included. For many newspapers the coverage extends back to the 1990's.

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Online access to The New York Times articles from 1851-1922 and from 1980 to the present.

Delpher This link opens in a new window
A selection of historic dutch national, regional and local newspapers, al well as papers from the Dutch East Indies, Suriname and the Netherlands Antilles. Period: 1618-1945. In the future the project will be extended till 1995.
De Groene Amsterdammer This link opens in a new window
Dutch weekly news magazine founded in 1877 as 'De Amsterdammer'. Available in digitized form from 1877 till 1940.
The New York Times 1857-1922 This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007).
The New York Times 1923-2018 This link opens in a new window

Newspaper digitization advances rapidly. There are websites that try to keep up with the current developments.

kranten-historisch.startpagina.nl This link opens in a new window
Dutch portal that offers links to many digitized historic national, regional and local newspapers. Contains Dutch and worldwide newspapers.
Wikipedia:List of online newspaper archives This link opens in a new window
List of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of links to historic newspapers worldwide.
Libguide BGSU about finding newspapers This link opens in a new window
Libguide of the Bowling Green State University on finding current and historic newspapers. Lists more portals on current and historic online newspapers.