Skip to Main Content

Library Guides/ Modern and Contemporary History 1800 AD - Present

Welcome

Resources for the history of modern and contemporary Europe.

Handbooks on the history of Europe

Berend, Ivan T. Europe since 1980. Cambridge, 2010.
Blanning,T. C. W., ed. The Nineteenth Century. Oxford, 2000.
ISBN: 9780198731351
Doumanis, Nicholas, ed. The Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945. Oxford, 2014.
ISBN: 9780199695669
Fulbrook, Mary. Europe since 1945. Oxford, 2001.
Jackson, Julian, ed. Europe, 1900-1945. Oxford, 2002.
ISBN: 9780199244287
Jarausch, Konrad Hugo. Out of Ashes : A New History of Europe in the Twentieth Century. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2015.
ISBN: 9781400883479
Judt, Tony. Postwar. New York, NY, 2006.
ISBN: 9780143037750
Kershaw, Ian. Roller-Coaster : Europe, 1950-2017. The Penguin History of Europe, 9. UK: Allen Lane, 2018.
ISBN: 9780241187166
Mason, David S. A Concise History of Modern Europe. 2nd ed. Lanham, ML, 2015.
ISBN: 1442236973
Stone, Dan, ed. The Oxford Handbook of Postwar European History. Oxford, 2012.
ISBN: 9780199560981
Doumanis, Nicholas, ed. The Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945. Oxford Handbooks Online. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014.
ISBN: 9780199695669
Evans, Richard J. The Pursuit of Power : Europe 1815-1914. The Penguin History of Europe, Vii. New York, New York: Viking, 2016.
ISBN: 9780670024575
Ther, Philipp. Europe Since 1989 : A History. Translated by Charlotte Hughes-Kreutzmuller. English edition. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2016.
ISBN: 9780691167374

Storey, W.K. The First World War: a concise global history. Blue Ridge Summit: Rowman & Littlefield, 2020

Key bibliography for European history

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.

European National Libraries

European National Libraries
Portal to bibliographic and digital collections of European national libraries.

Interesting websites

Historiana.eu
Historiana is developed by EUROCLIO and partners with the support of the Europe for Citizens programme of the European Union.

Reference

{{subjectTitle}}

{{subjectGuides}}

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts