Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for GIS
EASY gives access to a large number of research datasets. Data and documentation can be downloaded free of charge.
Historical maps repository RUG
This collection consists of maps from the Netherlands and Europe which have been drawn and printed since the 1900's. Most maps have Groningen (city and province) and their surrounding area (Drenthe and Oost-Friesland) as leading subject.
Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
A catalogue of online geo-information datasets in the Netherlands (available in Dutch only).
Statistics Netherlands offers a wealth of data on the Dutch economy and society. From inflation to population, data are clearly presented as they are classified by theme, available to everyone.
CBS Historische Collectie
Historical collection of the CBS (only in Dutch).
Statistics International Organizations
Eurostat produces European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States.
International Development Statistics
Bilateral and multilateral donors' aid and other resource flows to developing countries.
Publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) -new portal
Global official statistical data of the United Nations
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The World Bank's compilation of development data
United States Census Bureau (Population)
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
Population Reference Bureau
PRB offers hundreds of demographic indicators and thousand of geographical locations.
IPUMS-International is an effort by Minnesota Population Center (University of Minnesota) to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples.
The DHS Program : Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS Program supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of host countries. Further on a country level are datasets available as results of survey research.
Population Index (Princeton)
Database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
Other useful statistics
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes. A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available, across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…)
Student theses Spatial Sciences