- Library
- LibGuides
- Spatial Sciences
- Statistics, Data & Maps
Geodienst
The spatial expertise centre of the University of Groningen. They offer free support for all students & staff with GIS and data management.
www.rug.nl/geo
geodienst@rug.nl
+31 50 363 9211
Resources for GIS
- LISS dataThe LISS panel consists of 5,000 households, comprising approximately 7,500 individuals that complete online questionnaires every month.
- DANS EASY This link opens in a new windowEASY gives access to a large number of research datasets. Data and documentation can be downloaded free of charge.
Cartography
- Historical maps repository RUG This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of maps from the Netherlands and Europe which have been drawn and printed since the 1900's. Most maps have Groningen (city and province) and their surrounding area (Drenthe and Oost-Friesland) as leading subject.
- Worldmaps This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
Open Data
- National Georegister This link opens in a new windowA catalogue of online geo-information datasets in the Netherlands (available in Dutch only).
Statistics Dutch
- StatLine (CBS) This link opens in a new windowStatistics Netherlands offers a wealth of data on the Dutch economy and society. From inflation to population, data are clearly presented as they are classified by theme, available to everyone.
- CBS Historische Collectie This link opens in a new windowHistorical collection of the CBS (only in Dutch).
Statistics International Organizations
- Eurostat This link opens in a new windowEurostat produces European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States.
- International Development Statistics This link opens in a new windowBilateral and multilateral donors' aid and other resource flows to developing countries.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowPublications of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) -new portal
- World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank's compilation of development data
Population Data
- United States Census Bureau (Population)The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
- Population Reference BureauPRB offers hundreds of demographic indicators and thousand of geographical locations.
- IPUMS InternationalIPUMS-International is an effort by Minnesota Population Center (University of Minnesota) to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples.
- The DHS Program : Demographic and Health SurveysThe DHS Program supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of host countries. Further on a country level are datasets available as results of survey research.
- Population Index (Princeton)Database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
Other useful statistics
- NationMasterNationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes. A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available, across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…)
Student theses Spatial Sciences
- Student theses Spatial SciencesA repository of student theses by former students to use as an example for collecting your own data.
Economic, Company and Financial data
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace for Eikon
Eikon is a financial database that includes company data, market data, news, country and economic data, analytics and tools. It is available within the LSEG Refinitiv data-platform Workspace. The Eikon Excel add-in also grants access to Datastream. Eikon/Datastream contains global coverage of equities, indices, derivatives, commodities, futures, currencies, bonds, financials, ownership data, and economic data.
Access to Eikon is provided via a Workspace account. For instructions on how to obtain a temporary license: please follow the steps described in the document below (self registration procedure LSEG Workspace). Please note that a TEMPORARY license will be assigned to you for 7 DAYS. If this period of 7 days has not been sufficient to you, send an email to have the license re-assigned to your account (do not start the self-registration procedure again, as you already have an account). In this document you will find some instructions to start working in Workspace within the University Workplace (UWP) or on your own machine. Contact information is given here also.