- Library
- LibGuides
- Early Modern History 1500-1800 AD
- Dutch Republic
Welcome
On this page you find a selection of the key bibliographies, handbooks and reference works on the history of the Dutch Republic in the Early Modern period.
Encyclopedic Reference
- Biografisch portaal van NederlandBiographical dictionary of the Netherlands.
- Koopmans, Joop W. Historical Dictionary of the Netherlands . Lanham, MD, 2015. This link opens in a new window
- Stallaerts, Robert. Historical Dictionary of Belgium. Lanham, MD, 1999. This link opens in a new window
Key bibliographic databases
- Bibliografie van de geschiedenis van België This link opens in a new window
Other bibliographic databases
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Dutch History Journals listed
Major electronic and printed journals for the subject of Dutch (Early Modern) History.
TEMPO (Dutch Pamphlets Online)
- Dutch Pamphlets OnlineDutch Pamphlets Online comprises both the complete Knuttel collection from the National Library of the Netherlands and the Van Alphen collection from Groningen University Library. The famous Knuttel collection contains some 34,000 pamphlets, to which the Van Alphen collection adds another 2,800. Primary texts on the history of the Low Countries between 1486 and 1853
Webresources
- Boekhouder Generaal Batavia This link opens in a new window
- The Sound Toll Registers Online This link opens in a new window
Handbooks
Israel, Jonathan I. The Dutch Republic. Oxford, 1998.ISBN: 9780198207344
Price, J. Leslie. Dutch Culture in the Golden Age. Londen, 2012.ISBN: 9781861899910
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts