Welcome
This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for Swedish language & culture that can be a good starting point for your research.
Related guides
- History This link opens in a new window
- Linguistics This link opens in a new window
- Arctic studies This link opens in a new window
Smartcat
Databases
- Nationalbibliografin - Swedish national bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowBibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe international bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBi(bli)ographies and critical analyses of literary works in all languages
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics, cultural studies, religious studies and anthropology
Google Scholar
Dictionaries
- Van Dale Online This link opens in a new windowVan Dale online dictionaries, including Dutch-Swedish and Swedish-Dutch
- Svenska Akademiens OrdböckerSearch three dictionaries in one go: Svenska Akademiens ordlista (SAOL), Svensk ordbok (SO) and the historical dictionary Svenska Akademiens ordbok (SAOB)
Reference
- Nationalencyklopedin (1989-2000) (SE) This link opens in a new window
- Nordics.info This link opens in a new windowKnowledge about the Nordic region. Content covers different aspects of the Nordic societies, including history, politics, social policy and culture, and comparisons between the Nordics and other geographical areas.
nordics.info is part of the Nordic university consortium hub ReNEW.
Handbooks
The Nordic Languages : an international handbook of the history of the North Germanic languages by ISBN: 9783110197051Publication Date: 2008
Handbok i svenska : skriva och tala, rätt och fel grammatik, knepiga ord by ISBN: 9789146171751Publication Date: 2001
Svenska språket under sjuhundra år : en historia om svenskan och dess utforskande by ISBN: 9789144039114Publication Date: 2005 [2a uppl.]
Journals (SmartCat search)
- Journals in SmartCatJournals about Sweden or Swedish and journals with articles in Swedish
Online books and text corpora
- Medieval Nordic Texts OnlineMenota is a network of leading Nordic archives, libraries and research departments working with medieval texts and manuscript facsimiles. The aim of Menota is to preserve and publish medieval texts in digital form.
- Språkbanken TextModern and historical Swedish texts in digital formats suitable for research.
- Project RunebergElectronic editions of classic Scandinavian literature
Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowDutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
News Sweden
Scandinavian films
The library has a large collection of films on dvd. Click on the links to see all the Scandinavian films available. (the list includes DVDs of non-scandinavian films with scandinavian subtitles).
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts