Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides an overview of bibliographies and other resources for Swedish language and culture.
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Online bibliography on language and literature.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Bi(bli)ographies and critical analyses of literary works in all languages
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics and anthropology
Van Dale Online This link opens in a new window
Van Dale online dictionaries, including Dutch-Swedish and Swedish-Dutch
Svenska Akademiens Ordböcker
Search three dictionaries in one go: Svenska Akademiens ordlista (SAOL), Svensk ordbok (SO) and the historical dictionary Svenska Akademiens ordbok (SAOB)
Online books and text corpora
Medieval Nordic Texts Online
Menota is a network of leading Nordic archives, libraries and research departments working with medieval texts and manuscript facsimiles. The aim of Menota is to preserve and publish medieval texts in digital form.
Modern and historical Swedish texts in digital formats suitable for research.
Electronic editions of classic Scandinavian literature
Questions? Ask the experts: