On this page you find the most important sources of information in the field of Psychology.
Selected article databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe leading international bibliography for psychology
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducational resources
- Medline This link opens in a new windowBibliographic databse for the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. The MEDLINE database contains the same records as PUBMED.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowArticles on sociology and related fields
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciencesEncyclopedia about behavioral and social sciences
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryE-book versions of reference works in various fields
- Sage eReferencePortal to subject-specific reference works in the social & behavioral sciences
- Annual reviewsReview articles of the literature on specific topics, with extensive bibliographies
- WikipediaOnline free-content encyclopedia
- PsycBOOKSE-books published by the American Psychological Association (APA)
- Oxford Handbooks on PsychologyMore than 200 online handbooks about psychological topics
- MIT CogNetE-books, journals and reference works about the brain & cognitive sciences, published by MIT Press
- Sage Research Methods Online (SROM)Research methods databases and tool
- Ebook central PsychologyEbook Central's e-books about psychology, from various academic publishers
Electronic theses BSS
- Student Theses Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences (from academic year 2021-22)These online theses are publicly accessible.
- Student Theses Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences (until academic year 2020-21)Note that these online theses are only accessible through Faculty computers at BSS.
A list of available current newspapers and a newspaper archive, licensed by the library or freely available online
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowDutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
Online archive Dutch newspapers
- Delpher (kranten) This link opens in a new windowDigitized Dutch newspapers from 1618 to 1995
Selected journals for Psychology
The selection of journals below is inevitably somewhat arbitrary.
For a more complete, alphabetical list, see this list,
- American Psychologist This link opens in a new window American Psychologist is the official journal of the American Psychological Association. As such, the journal contains archival documents and articles covering current issues in psychology, the science and practice of psychology, and psychology’s contribution to public policy. The journal does not publish empirical research results except under special circumstances to be determined by the editor-in-chief. However, papers submitted to AP may include meta-analysis or some data analysis on salient points where the intention is to support arguments of broad implication in the field of psychology.
- ANNUAL REVIEW OF PSYCHOLOGY This link opens in a new window Critical review articles on significant developments in all aspects of psychology
- De Psycholoog This link opens in a new window Dutch scientific journal about psychology, monthly of the Nederlands Instituut van Psychologen (NIP).
- PSYCHOLOGICAL BULLETIN Contains comprehensive and integrative reviews and interpretations of critical substantive and methodological issues and practical problems from all the areas of psychology
- PSYCHOLOGICAL REVIEW Includes articles that make theoretical contributions to all areas of scientific psychology
- Annual Review of Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new window The Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, in publication since 2005, provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the field of Clinical Psychology and Psychiatry.
- Frontiers in Psychology This link opens in a new window Frontiers in Psychology is an open access journal that aims at publishing the best research across the entire field of psychology.
- PsycCRITIQUESArchive containing 43,056 full-text reviews of books and movies in psychology and the social sciences. PsycCRITIQUES ended publication in Fall 2017.
Related Library Guides
- Medicine This link opens in a new window
- Pedagogy and Educational Sciences This link opens in a new window
- Sociology This link opens in a new window
Information Literacy Skills
If you need help searching for academic literature, and how to use it, please visit:
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Behavioural & Social Sciences