Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Studies: Home

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for American Studies. This is the starting point for your research.

eReference

Book Reviews

America: history and life. The key resource for American Studies

America: history & life is the leading bibliographic database for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory up to today. The database contains references to literature from over 1.700 journals. Together, America: history & life and Historical Abstracts cover the history of the entire world. Like Historical Abstracts, this database is hosted by EBSCO and its functionality is exactly the same as that of Historical Abstracts

Other useful General bibliographies

American Studies Journals

     Overview of American Studies journals worldwide

    Key journals

Collections e-journals

Early books online

Smartcat

GoogleScholar

 
For direct access to full text documents: 
  • Select the first icon (top left)
  • Select ‘Settings’ 
  • Select ‘Library links’
  • Search for: university groningen
  • Tick: University of Groningen Library – Get It! Univ of Groningen (un-tick other options)

You will now be able to see, via the Get it! link, whether a document is available through the RUG.

N.B. If you are working via the University network, these links are automatically selected.
 

Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. RefWorks

AM Explorer

Adam Matthew Digital Collections

DPLA