- Library
- LibGuides
- American Studies
- History & Society
Reference books
- American immigration and ethnicityThe Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores how Americans think of themselves and how science, religion, period of migration, gender, education, politics, intermarriage, and occupational mobility shape both this image and American life.
American Politics and Society by ISBN: 9781118261903Publication Date: 2013-02-06Offers thought-provoking insights into the social background to contemporary politics in America, while fully embracing the latest developments and considering these from a non-U.S. perspective
Colonial America: an Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History by ISBN: 9780765680655Publication Date: 2006-05-15
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowAmerican foreign policy and its background, 1607-2001
Historical Dictionary of the Early American Republic by ISBN: 9781442262997Publication Date: 2017-01-01
- Historical documents - Foreign relations of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
- The Oxford companion to United States History This link opens in a new window
- The Oxford guide to the United States Government This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of American History by ISBN: 9780816043712Publication Date: 2003-01-01This 11-volume set contains, in one chronological compilation, the history of the United States of America from its prehistoric ancestors to its 21st-century citizens. I
Bibliographies
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowBibliographical database on the history of the USA and Canada
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database with references on sociology, political science, economics, cultural studies, religious studies and anthropology
Internet resources
Ballot measure database: From the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and the StateVote project of State Legislatures Magazine, the Ballot Measures Database is a free, online, searchable archive of about 7,000 measures that have appeared on ballots in all 50 states and the District of Columbia since 1892.
News monitoring service
- Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new window "each monthly issue of Keesing’s Record of World Events accurately records, and objectively places within its immediate and historical context, the world’s most significant political, social and economic events by the end of the month following that in which they occurred. Among the events covered are elections and changes of government; wars, treaties, appointments, and diplomacy; terrorism and issues of internal security; legislation, budgets, economic developments and international agreements; actions by the UN and other international organisations; natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries." source: http://www.keesings.com/about_us
U.S. Government Printing Office
- GovInfo This link opens in a new window FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
Library of Congress
- Library of Congress - Digital collections This link opens in a new window a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites.
American Libraries: open access texts
- American librariesThe American Libraries collection includes material contributed from across the United States. Institutions range from the Library of Congress to many local public libraries. As a whole, this collection of material brings holdings that cover many facets of American life and scholarship into the public domain.
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts