Library Guides/ American Studies

Key resource for current newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers full-text articles from Dutch and foreign newspapers. Text only, no photos, charts or illustrations. Articles by freelance journalists are not always included. For many newspapers the coverage extends back to the 1990's.

The New York Times

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Online access to The New York Times articles from 1851-1922 and from 1980 to the present.

Key resources for historic U.S. newspapers

Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. [ source: http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/about/]
Early American Newspaper Series I, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window

Historical newspapers freely available on the internet:

Wartime Press

Historical Newspapers

Early American Newspapers Series I, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times 1881-1997 This link opens in a new window
New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new window

Web portals to historic newspapers

Wikipedia:List of online newspaper archives This link opens in a new window
List of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of links to historic newspapers worldwide.

Finding American newspapers

Looking for a newspaper? Here's how.

Identify a U.S. newspaper from a place and time

The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time. Connect to the Newspaper Directory.

Dutch newspapers

Dutch newspapers: an overview

News monitoring service

Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new window

Reference works on news media

World press encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Academia

Beeld en Geluid op School This link opens in a new window
Dutch audiovisual archives for higher education

Audiovisual media archives

Internet Archive - TV News This link opens in a new window
the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. The collection contains news programs collected from 2009 onwards from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Use the index of searchable text and watch short, streamed clips.

American archive of public broadcasting

Independent Voices

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access collection of American alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Questions? Ask the experts:

Subjects: Faculty of Arts